Laptop Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2010, 11:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Laptop Memory

This is more of a Netbook question, but it is about laptop memory, so move as you see fit.

Here's my question. My ASUS Eee 1005HA has 1gb of DDR2, single slot.




Now as seen above, my RAM is 400MHz (PC2-6400) [400 x 2 = 800]



Here, It is running at 266.7MHz [266 x 2 = 533]

If my memory (in my head) serves me right, that means I need only 533MHz RAM, correct?

Why did they put a 400MHz (PC2-6400) in there if it runs as a 266MHz speed? To save money?

I haven't fully checked out my BIOS yet, but I'm sure there's something in there that will juice it up.

I'm looking at getting a single 2GB, to get this baby running a little faster. I notice sometimes it locks up.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
matt123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 119
Default Re: Laptop Memory

you download pc wizard to analyse the entire hardware structure are listed.
Download PC Wizard 2009
__________________

__________________
One Machine can do the work of 50 ordinary men.
But no machine can do the work of one extraordinary man.
---Elbert Hubbard
matt123 is offline  
Old 01-29-2010, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Laptop Memory

Isn't PC Wizard the same as CPU-Z? Made by the same company.. And I can only see what speed the memory stick is, not what it is running.

Ok, the FSB speed of the Atom CPU is 533. That's why..
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop and Laptop memory Milan Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 12-04-2009 07:08 PM
Consistently Inconsistent Memory Issues.... Cunjo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-04-2009 12:54 PM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 08:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.