Laptop Graphics Card Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2009, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default Laptop Graphics Card Question

Hi there,

I am not a computer expert but know enough to get by, I am a little bit annoyed at the moment because I bought a laptop which according to it's seller has a 512mb Graphics Card,

He even did dxdiag in the run screen and showed me the card is a x1300 Radeon with 512mb ram.

But the more I read about this card the more it is rated as a rubbish graphics card and I only ever see people referring to it as a 128mb graphics card.

This does not make sense to me, how did he get it to display 512mb graphics but everyone says it's a 128mb graphics card.

Have I been screwed...........

Thanks for helping me, this is what the dxdiag shows the card as:

Display Devices
Card name: ATI Mobility Radeon X1300
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI Mobility Radeon X1300 (0x714A)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_714A&SUBSYS_30AC103C&REV_00
Display Memory: 512.0 MB
Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Default Monitor
Monitor Max Res:
Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6614 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 5/10/2006 11:27:38, 258048 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
Mini VDD Date: 5/10/2006 11:27:22, 1543168 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-320A-11CF-5A6A-A610A1C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x714A
SubSys ID: 0x30AC103C
Revision ID: 0x0000
Revision ID: 0x0000
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D ModeWMV8_B ModeWMV8_A ModeWMV9_B ModeWMV9_A
Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run

LPzaz is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Almighty Forensica
Yami's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,432
Default Re: Laptop Graphics Card Question

According to Wikipedia, your graphics chip is 128MB. It would suck either way, though.

Comparison of ATI graphics processing units - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

It says the memory is shared, though, so it has 128MB of it's own memory, and then it nicks the other 384MB from the normal RAM. So, technically you're right, and the salesmen was wrong, mostly.

If you're wondering how powerful your chip is, look at this list we have here
You'll notice yours is at the top of the "Class 4 Barely Games-Capable" category.

Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone HTC One M8 - Sense 7 - 6.0

Uni MSci Ethical Hacking, Coventry University
Work Trainee Cell Site Analyst
LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 12:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
hikaricloud's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Laptop Graphics Card Question

Possibly, the reason it says 512mb is it's taking 384mb of memory from your RAM.
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 11:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Laptop Graphics Card Question

Yeah it uses Hypermemory which means there's 128mb on the card itself (dedicated) and it can use up to 384mb of your system's memory (shared). So in total it can use about 512mb. The gpu is normally configured to adjust the amount of ram it borrows from your system dynamically to achieve the best performance but sometimes you can change this in the BIOS. So I guess the seller wasn't wrong entirely, but it was rather misleading since it's technically not a proper 512mb gpu.
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Laptop Graphics Card Question

yeah that's why i don't go to future shop. The techs usually know nothing.
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! graphics card!? Headaches Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2009 06:27 PM
wireless PCI LAN card blocking part of graphics card fan Santuzzo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 05-01-2009 06:59 AM
Graphics card question dano4163 System Upgrades 10 12-10-2008 07:36 AM
WHich Graphics Card Should i Get??? Twalker323 New Systems | Building and Buying 52 09-29-2008 08:51 PM
Is it possible to change the graphics card on a laptop trmiller System Upgrades 5 11-29-2007 01:55 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.