laptop battery cell replacement - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2007, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default laptop battery cell replacement

I opened up my alienware battery pack and the cells have the number ICR18650P1. I can't find them anywhere. I can find ICR18650H3 and was wondering if that would work? Its a lot cheaper to replace the cells then it is to replace the whole battery pack.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: laptop battery cell replacement

People normally just replace the battery as a whole.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 05:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: laptop battery cell replacement

just replace the battery as there is a chane you could damage it

WE LOVE YOU NORCENT
Nick is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: laptop battery cell replacement

I know what I am doing so I know I can fix it. I was just wondering if the voltage, MAh matter? Also does it matter if I use ICR18650H3 lion battery cells?
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: laptop battery cell replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I know what I am doing so I know I can fix it. I was just wondering if the voltage, MAh matter? Also does it matter if I use ICR18650H3 lion battery cells?
You know what you're doing? If thats true, then there wouldn't be so many threads like this. You don't known and thats why you are here to ask.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: laptop battery cell replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
You know what you're doing? If thats true, then there wouldn't be so many threads like this. You don't known and thats why you are here to ask.
yeah but you guys are helping me out a lot. Thank you guys. Also I am in training to become A+ certified, network+ certified, ect.
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: laptop battery cell replacement

ohh i wish you all the best for that norcent remeber to put the wrong answers as they are usualy the right ones
Nick is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 04:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: laptop battery cell replacement

Where to start...

First of A+ and Network+ certifications have absolutely nothing to do with the principles of electrical engineering and or theory.

Second, mAh wont make a difference. The only thing that matter is that the voltage coming out of the pack stays the same. By that logic as long as each cell outputs the same voltage as before you shouldn't have a problem.

Cant figure that out? Take the cell's output voltage (should be listed on the battery casing) and divide it by the number of cells in the battery. Thus giving you the voltage output of each cell.

Make sure though that when you replace the cells that they are at least as powerful mAh wise as the previous ones, otherwise that **** thing won't get **** for battery life.

*I cannot be held responsible for any damage you may cause to: yourself, your laptop, or the cells.*
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 06:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: laptop battery cell replacement

ok I don't know where to find a 1.8v lion battery cell. Also that bios problem I was having I just solved. The bios battery was wired to the mobo. I disconnected the wires from the bios battery and used electric tape to hold the contacts on the new bios battery. The computer boots faster now cause I don't have those stupid pop ups in xp saying your date and time are f'd up. I just need to find a buyer now.
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 06:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: laptop battery cell replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
ok I don't know where to find a 1.8v lion battery cell. Also that bios problem I was having I just solved. The bios battery was wired to the mobo. I disconnected the wires from the bios battery and used electric tape to hold the contacts on the new bios battery. The computer boots faster now cause I don't have those stupid pop ups in xp saying your date and time are f'd up. I just need to find a buyer now.
Finding the cell would be quite a challenge. There are many "parts" websites but its hard to find the correct one. That's why buying the battery is easier.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird laptop battery issues CalcProgrammer1 Laptops and Notebooks 2 11-09-2007 07:36 PM
Compaq 3015 Laptop battery issue DaPurpleRT Laptops and Notebooks 6 10-08-2007 02:10 AM
Battery Replacement Details for iPhone Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 07-06-2007 11:01 AM
laptop battery... dingdong-man Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-12-2007 11:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.