Laptop for AutoCAD 2012 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2011, 11:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

Hi!

I've been searching A LOT for updated information about this question but I only find 1 year old information.

I will use autocad basicly for plan and few 3D modeling.

I have 1K$ budget.

What spec is more important? HD speed? Memory? Dual or Quad? Graphic Card?

Thank you A LOT!

Steeve
__________________

Prophecy604 is offline  
Old 04-30-2011, 12:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

I had a friend that was in this field as well. A Lenovo will be the best for you. I'm not experienced in them, but I know they are superb.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-30-2011, 02:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

Thank you MindoverMaster!!!!! I will look at them!
Prophecy604 is offline  
Old 04-30-2011, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

I like the Lenovo laptops but maybe a bit pricey! I like the fact that I can put a quadro graphic card in it and a 7200 rpm HDD.

Intel Core i5-2540M Processor (2.60GHz, 3MB L3, 1333MHz FSB) with Intel Turbo Boost Technology up to 3.3GHz
Genuine Windows 7 Professional (64 bit)
Windows 7 XP Mode - French Edit
15.6" HD+ (1600 x 900) LED backlight Anti-Glare display, with Wireless WAN Antenna
NVIDIA Quadro NVS4200M Optimus technology (1GB)
4 GB PC3-10600 DDR3 SDRAM 1333MHz SODIMM Memory (2 DIMM)
Clavier franšais canadien
Hard drive: 500GB Hard Disk Drive, 7200rpm
Optical device: DVD Recordable
System expansion slots: Express Card Slot, 4-in-1 Card Reader with place-holder cover
6 Cell 2.6Ah Li-Ion Battery
90W AC Adpt; NA, LA, (2pin)
ThinkPad 1x1 b/g/n

Should I take more than 4GB memory?

Quadcore processor is a must or the i5 2.60ghz /w turbo should be enough?

Bluetooth can be good if I use Iphone often?
Prophecy604 is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 19
Default Re: Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

Well the i5 processor in that model is a 2 core 4 thread processor which should be sufficient.

Memory is cheap enough so you can upgrade anytime. I saw an advertisement for 8 GB of ram for 55.00.

I used my power cable for my Iphone to connect to my PC. I didn't eve use bluetooth. I've moved to Android and I still use the cable.
orlbuckeye is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

Thank you!

I really think it will be a Lenovo.

i5 really enough?
Prophecy604 is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 05:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

Yeah, i5 is enough. That is actually a SandyBridge i5. They are superb.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 08:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

Lenovo ThinkPad 424048F

15,6" LED 1600 x 900 WSXGA
Core i7 i7-2620M 2,70 GHz
4Go RAM PC3-10600
500Go HDD 7200rpm
nVIDIA NVS 4200M
Windows 7 Professional 64 Bits
14 Hours Battery life


Decided to buy the i7 because it was like 75$ more expensive. For that price I can't say no.

Anybody know how many RAM win7 can take in charge? Same question for autoCAD.

Thank you!
Prophecy604 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 08:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

Quote:
Anybody know how many RAM win7 can take in charge?
What exactly do you mean? How much RAM can 7 run on? I forget the limit, but your system, I think, can take up to 8GB.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 08:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Laptop for AutoCAD 2012

Yes my system take up to 8GB.

My point is 4BG in a computer with XP is waste of money because XP does see only 2 of them. Win7 have this kind of maximum?

Sorry, english is not my first language. :P
__________________

Prophecy604 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good laptop for autocad? Drogos Laptops and Notebooks 9 10-07-2010 03:31 PM
2012.... Harper Off Topic Discussion 34 07-16-2009 10:00 PM
laptop for use with autocad ibexpiotr Laptops and Notebooks 4 05-24-2009 06:55 AM
Dec 12... 2012 Kisskerven Off Topic Discussion 25 11-13-2007 05:18 AM
Should I buy AutoCad? pinoy3000 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 10-25-2007 12:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.