Labtop will only start in Safe mode / Network Adapter issue ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2010, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default Labtop will only start in Safe mode / Network Adapter issue ?

My HP Dx6000 will only start in the Safe mode with networking start up option. I've tried:

Virus checks (doesn't appear to be a virus)
Windows Directory Services Restore Mode
System restore
MSCONFIG, unchecking everything
Last known good configuration
Tried CHKDSK.. it says system will check in 6 seconds but when the time runs out it never checks it.
Cannot get it to load "sfc scannow" either.

When I check out the device manager there are !! next to all of the microsoft adapters. Not sure if this is because I'm in Safe mode or if it's the problem why the normal mode isnt loading.

If I try to go into Microsoft adapter properties and try to roll back the driver the option is not clickable.


Any ideas ?
__________________

Itzabreeze is offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 261
Default Re: Labtop will only start in Safe mode / Network Adapter issue ?

When you attempt to load normally what happens? Normally your network adapter will not be called a Microsoft Adapter it will be its normal name, example Netgear XXXX, etc

Just before this issue started happening did you install anything (including updates)?
__________________

NoNameNY is offline  
Old 08-22-2010, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Labtop will only start in Safe mode / Network Adapter issue ?

You will notice that those devices wont have drivers for a specific reason. In Safe Mode only the needed set of drivers load to operate the system. Not all drivers load. Which is why in Safe Mode you see devices that have the ! next to them. Those drivers are not loaded. You need to get into normal mode for them to start up.

What Operating System is on the laptop?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-22-2010, 12:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Labtop will only start in Safe mode / Network Adapter issue ?

...I use Windows Vista

When I attempt to load normally it either just goes into the black background or sometimes I can get it to where it wants me to input my password but it never loads up (curser just keeps going in circles).


Before the issues started I didn't install anything or did any updates. I had problems with the computer freezing which resulted in manual restarts which could have played a major factor in this.
Itzabreeze is offline  
Old 08-22-2010, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Labtop will only start in Safe mode / Network Adapter issue ?

Yes that most likely did. By manually restarting you could have caused file corruption easily with some essential Windows files. Including but not limited to those needed to do the chkdsk and scannow operations. Sadly at this point since nothing has worked including restore points you best option is going to be backing up your personal data and restoring the laptop to factory settings.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista will not start up and cannot go into Safe Mode Chad711 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 11-05-2008 01:38 PM
Unable to start windows...even in safe mode leonardmp92 Microsoft Windows and Software 11 09-23-2006 09:48 PM
Getting into safe mode Jesse_XIV Microsoft Windows and Software 10 08-10-2006 10:31 AM
Safe mode issue or dangerous problem with safe mode WTF now ? -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-28-2005 07:54 AM
can only start in safe mode with xp mlr Microsoft Windows and Software 9 11-24-2004 06:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.