Labtop Processor Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2008, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default Labtop Processor Question

I'm looking into buying a labtop and I am not sure which processor I should get. It's down to the T7700 or T8300 (both Core 2 Duo). They both run at 2.4GHz but the T7700 has 4MB of L2 Cache vs the 3B in the T8300; however, the T8300 features Intel's new 45nm architecture while the T7700 utilizes the older 65nm architecture.

They both will cost me exactly the same so its down to 45nm vs. 1 extra MB of L2 cache. At this point I am leaning heavily towards the T8300 but I am wondering if there is any reason why I shouldn't get it over the 7700.
__________________

Cheeseking25 is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Labtop Processor Question

Go with the 45nm. The smaller architecture produces less heat. That is always good for a laptop.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Labtop Processor Question

its laptop

45nm is a good positive as it consumes less power and takes less heat, so you can have a larger battery life
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 08:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Labtop Processor Question

People still call it labtop? I can't believe it...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 01:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default Re: Labtop Processor Question

Thanks, I'll be going with the T8300 (my bad about the spelling ).
Cheeseking25 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 10:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Labtop Processor Question

Hi guys.
This is my first post, and didn't think it warranted a new thread as the OP has already started a simialr one. Hope I'm not stepping on anyone's toes!

Anyways, I'm in a very similar position. I have a laptop on order with the following specs:
T8300 2.4GHz3gb RAM
320gb HDD
256mb gfx
15.4" Screen @ 1280x800
6hr battery
8x cd/dvd rw

This machine is coming in at just over the €900 mark delivered, using all sorts of coupons.

I've come across another machine from the same manufacturer with a similar spec:
T7700 2.4GHz
4gb RAM
250gb HDD
256mb gfx
15.4" Screen @ 1680x1050
9hr battery
2x bd drive

This unit is coming in on a certain auction site at just under €520 delivered. Granted this price is liable to go up, but I can't see it reaching the same price as the first machine.
Surely the second machine is better value yeah?
It's gonna be used primarily as a desktop replacement. It won't be mobile much.
Thanks ahead of time guys.
Soarer.
Soarer is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Labtop Processor Question

No the 2nd machine is not worth more. The 45nm technology is hte newest and the best. Less heat and all that. It is worth more. All of the previous comments still stand. The 8300 is a better CPU.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Labtop Processor Question

Just because 45nm is "less" than 65nm doesn't mean its worse

45nm is actually better because it refers to the size of the die, that means its runs cooler and consumes less power, its the latest gen tech right now and its great for laptops
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Labtop Processor Question

Thanks for the replies guys.

@ Mak: I'm wondering if the second machine listed is better value than the first? The first one has the newer processor, and a slightly bigger HDD. However, the second one has more ram, more pixels, bigger battery, and BluRay player/burner.
Considering it's over 300 less than the T8300 specced machine, would it be a better "value for money" machine?

@ vernong1992: Cheers for the info.
Soarer is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Labtop Processor Question

For the money. Yes it would be of more value. Personally i could care less about BluRay cause watching it on a 15" or 17" monitor is not my idea of HD. Battery is always a issue.

Teh RAM isnt really a issue. 3GB is plenty as it is. With a better CPU you off set the 1GB of RAM.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the fastest processor for a labtop?? PeediCracker631 Laptops and Notebooks 16 12-29-2007 03:50 PM
new labtop pts2800 Laptops and Notebooks 8 12-03-2007 05:31 PM
Labtop reccomendations. Ste Laptops and Notebooks 11 11-17-2007 08:32 AM
labtop oc'ing ApolloIV Laptops and Notebooks 4 11-12-2007 09:42 AM
Help me Pick a Labtop!!! khan008 Laptops and Notebooks 13 09-06-2007 09:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.