Issues with Laptops

Status
Not open for further replies.

theopus

Beta member
I am a IT admin where I work. Seems that the laptops have more stability issues then desktops. DO you find the same? Is there an increased chance for a "blue screen" or system lock up when you are popping the notebook in and out of the docking station when it is online and connected? I have a user that seems to have more issues then other users. He is constantly telling me on every lock up , application hang, blue screen.
I agree he should not have to put up with these issues.. I can not help but feel that the lock ups and application hangs are related to the way he uses his notebook. Impatience in starting an app. starting something else at the same time. Installing odd little utilities from the web.

just not sure what to tell him ( well in a professional way )

Maybe there is a utility I should be using that will scan a system and tell me what is wrong with it... It takes SOOO much time tracking down every lockup or app hang.

its how you use it not laptops in general. Mine is rock solid I have brought it down omb of hdd space left and running a file server in the background on it and it has never failed me. My friends have exactly the same laptops bought from school all the same models with the same starting software and there is one person who seems hopeless with it he is down with technicians atleast once a week as I can't be bothered to fix it for him any more and because its a school laptop we get free 24-7 technical support so I would rather waste the time of the guys who have the job of fixing it rather then mine own.

The technicians here are so slow though!!!!! I swear they have no passion for their job and take a whole day to do a job which takes me an hour.

I have a user that seems to have more issues then other users. He is constantly telling me on every lock up , application hang, blue screen.