Interchanging laptop hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2008, 01:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default Interchanging laptop hard drives

Is it possible to remove my current laptop hard drive (hdd 1), insert and boot from a second hard drive (hdd 2), and then remove hdd 2 and replace with hdd 1...and then continue to run normally from hdd 1.

The reason I ask is that I have an extra laptop hard drive that I would like to get rid of, but I want to wipe it clean of all my data before I do. I know of a few free programs I can use, but I want to avoid having to buy a cable to connect it to my other pc.
__________________

mikieb is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 01:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to erabyss Send a message via MSN to erabyss Send a message via Yahoo to erabyss
Default Re: Interchanging laptop hard drives

I dont think that is possible. I know there are many LiveCD that would work for you. Try "GParted" or "Killdisk" both are free.
__________________

erabyss is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Interchanging laptop hard drives

As long as the connections are the same, why wouldn't it be possible? All he's doing is removing his primary drive, inserting the secondary drive, wipe that one, remove it, and insert his primary drive again. You won't be able to boot into Windows w/ the 2nd drive, most likely, but you could do what erabyss said, and boot off of a Killdisk disk with your SECONDARY drive installed, wipe it, and then reinsert your primary drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 06:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Interchanging laptop hard drives

If the laptop is powered on don't try it, you can ruin your laptop by trying it.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Interchanging laptop hard drives

if you have a windows disk you can format it.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Interchanging laptop hard drives

As long both of the hard drives are bootable, it's possible.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 11:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Interchanging laptop hard drives

hey thanks everyone. yeah i did what i needed to. instead of booting from the second hard drive, i just made a bootable killdisk cd as erabyss suggested. thanks man. that took care of the job, i popped the original hard drive back in and everything is as normal.
mikieb is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 12:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Interchanging laptop hard drives

Yup, as expected.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drives full when not???!! BritishBeef Microsoft Windows and Software 4 02-21-2008 12:48 AM
Hard drives; pata vs sata s37d System Upgrades 5 02-11-2008 05:22 PM
3 hard drives what array? BennyB Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-20-2007 03:49 PM
Hard Drives sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-03-2007 03:21 PM
WTB/WTT for 10k Hard Drive(s) jordo_99 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 05-31-2007 11:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.