Intel speed step and intel VT off or on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2011, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
Wink Intel speed step and intel VT off or on

i turned speed step off on my alienware m17x r3 and it feels alot like clocks are higher but internet got hella slow,lagy
example: slow page loading!

when i turn speed step back on it still stays slow
can you help me

specs
i7 2720m
hd 6990
wireless kiler n1103
6 gb of ram

tell me everything you know
__________________

adam4st is offline  
Old 11-24-2011, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Intel speed step and intel VT off or on

Speedsteping and VT have no connection thethe internet.

VT is for virtual machines and speedstepping iks power savings feature that downclocks to save power.

Is it all pages? have you tried testing your speed? it could just be a bad page.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-24-2011, 05:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Intel speed step and intel VT off or on

go to speedtest.net and run the test, also go to pingtest.net and run the test, post the results here.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-24-2011, 10:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

You could also try using a different browser to see if its a app cofig issue
office politics is offline  
Old 11-24-2011, 11:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: Intel speed step and intel VT off or on

ok i will do that when i get back from work
adam4st is offline  
Old 12-12-2011, 02:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: Intel speed step and intel VT off or on

I have too just purchases an Alienware M17xR3 and I am too concerned about the Intel Speedtest. I came about this because my owners manual that came with my laptop says this "Intel SpeedStep
Allows you to enable or disable the Intel SpeedStep technology. Disabling this feature may improve performance, but will greatly reduce battery life." I looked around google and came about this thread. My specs are this:
i7 2720QM
hd 6970
wireless killer n1103
14gb Ram 1333mhz

Although I did mess with my bios and overclocked the processor to 3.09GHZ I know this because I have downloaded Intel Turbo Boost monitor 2.0
I want to know upgrade my hard drive to a ssd but I dont know what to buy or how to make the swap. I want to know if turning Speedstep off will make my laptop better or damage it in any way.
ezequiel8485 is offline  
Old 12-12-2011, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Intel speed step and intel VT off or on

It will do neither.

It is just a power savings feature.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel speed step..? Nick Overclocking and Modding 11 01-31-2009 02:55 PM
what speed is an intel 820? EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-01-2008 04:01 PM
How can you measure the speed between Intel and AMD CPUs? Sashatheman Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 10-09-2005 08:27 PM
Amd vrs Intel clock speed question. Saint71 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-03-2005 11:23 PM
amd processors speed = to intel speeds rootbeeris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 12-08-2004 03:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.