"Integrated" graphics on a laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2008, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default "Integrated" graphics on a laptop?

I was just browsing Dell because I have to simulate a small business so I have to buy some computers for the project. I was customizing a laptop to meet the requirements and I noticed the video card section.

I had 3 options. Intel Integrated, 128mb Nvidia, 256mb Nvidia. Uhh? I thought all laptop graphics cards were integrated. Is this to say that the 128/256 Nvidia graphics cards can be easily removed?
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: "Integrated" graphics on a laptop?

It's either a slightly different mobo with a different on-board card, but there are some cards that can be swaped but it's hard to do an your very limited as they are not a standard shape. There has been a few threads on this subject recently take a little look an you will see.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: "Integrated" graphics on a laptop?

all the makers can easily swap the vga component...it's not so easy for the consumer and often voids the warrant even if we know how...cracking open the case and all
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: "Integrated" graphics on a laptop?

Oh yeah I understand that the form factor of cards is extremely limited. I was just trying to associate it as with desktops...

With desktops, some motherboards have integrated video.
Also with desktops, some users like to use PCI/AGP/PCIE cards.

I'm just curious, when it says integrated video on laptops, is it integrated into the motherboard?

Also, when it says 128/256mb graphics cards in laptops, aren't those integrated as well? Or are they actually "unpluggable" from the system?

Like... I have a 128mb X1200 ATI card... is that hardwired/soldered/just plain f'n attached to the motherboard, or can I crack it open and unhook it if I so desired?
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: "Integrated" graphics on a laptop?

it's a luck shot what you have....often the brand makers don't want to tell you. But you can crack yours open to see how easy it is or isn't...there is no real standard yet and they can very from brand to brand and model to model.

your's could be easily removed, or may need to be unsoldered.

use these for reference
Repair4Laptop: Do-it-Yourself Notebook and Laptop Graphics Card Replacements or Repairings
Upgradable Laptop Graphics? - Aelon.net

and possibilities
InformIT: MXM: Finally, an open standard for laptop graphics > MXM: Finally, an open standard for laptop graphics
Laptops: ASUS XG Station Laptop Graphics Dock
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 01:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: "Integrated" graphics on a laptop?

I'm wondering the same thing, I have a Lenovo 3000 N100 with a core 2 duo and 2gb of ram. I can't play the CoD4 demo on it though cause of the "Intel Integrated Graphics". I'm wondering if there is any way to put a graphics card in this thing? Cause I've seen the same model laptops with some sort of nvidia graphics in them...?
__________________

900RR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to change the graphics card on a laptop trmiller System Upgrades 5 11-29-2007 02:55 AM
Laptop graphics comparison to desktop? ssjheero_yuy99 Laptops and Notebooks 1 08-13-2007 10:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.