installing XP on asus eee - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2009, 02:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: installing XP on asus eee

Does the version of XP you are using have at least SP2? If not it most likely wont work. there wasnt support for SSD back then. You will have to slipstream SP3 to the XP CD. Possibly some drivers as well.

It is most likely failing and giving this because it doesnt recognize the system at all. Mainly the hard drive which is why it stated the last part of your error.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 02:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: installing XP on asus eee

its windows xp SP2
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 02:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: installing XP on asus eee

Then you will most likely have to slipstream your HDD Drivers onto the CD.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 02:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: installing XP on asus eee

haha lol it installs windows 2000 SP4 but not XP?!?
robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 02:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: installing XP on asus eee

Yeah? I have seen systems that can install Windows 7 but not Windows Vista. They are the same.

Did you run a virus scan like it said? Maybe it is not the hard drive but the chipset that XP doesnt recognize. Maybe it is the network adapter. There is no knowing with the little bit of information that is available.

There are many things to consider other than it installing a older version of Windows over a newer version.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS EEE PC SSD HD Issue djmaddogfreak Laptops and Notebooks 10 01-25-2009 02:56 AM
Easy Peasy Optimized Ubuntu For Asus Eee PCs Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 01-24-2009 10:51 AM
loading win on asus eee robina_80 Laptops and Notebooks 6 09-29-2008 12:46 AM
warning: Eee 900 - ASUS manipulates review ratings 111sins Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 04-29-2008 07:52 AM
Asus EEE PC, Acer 14.1", or Ipod touch 16gb? BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL Laptops and Notebooks 6 01-14-2008 05:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.