Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2010, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Default Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7

I have an Hp Pavilion dv6247cl Amd turion processor and Nvidia chipset. I need a SATA ACHI controller driver for windows install to recognize my hard disk. I have searched and searched for a driver that would work after about 1000 different drivers last night I gave up. Anyone know how to get the proper driver for my comp so I can finish my install?
__________________

Dgreenphotography is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 04:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7

Set in your BIOS to set your hard drive to ACHI
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7

I tried To set in Bios but mine has not option for that.
Dgreenphotography is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7

What BIOS version do you have?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7

Pheonix Bio Version F.27 i know its out of date but until I can get an operating system going I dont know how to use Hp's Flash utility. I though of possibly creating a bootable usb but then I dont know how to flash from there.
Dgreenphotography is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 07:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7

Does it have a flash option in BIOS, or a key code at startup?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7

Ok so I have successfully flashed the bios with Hp's Bios update. Still no AHCI option in cmos. Stiil cant read SATA drive from windows installation disk. Says load 3rd party driver. Here is system info. Not sure where to find proper driver for intallation.

Product Number GA451UA#ABA
Microprocessor 1.8 GHz AMD Turion ™ 64 X2 Dual-Core Mobile Technology TL-56
Microprocessor Cache 512KB+512KB L2 Cache
Memory 1024 MB DDR2 System Memory (2 Dimm)
Memory Max 2048 MB Max supported
Video Graphics NVIDIA GeForce Go 6150 (UMA)
Video Memory Up to 287 MB
Hard Drive 160GB (5400RPM) Hard Drive (SATA)
Multimedia Drive Super Multi 8X DVD±R/RW with Double Layer Support
Display 15.4" WXGA High-Definition Brightview Widescreen (1280 X 800) Display
Fax/Modem High speed 56k modem
Network Card Integrated 10/100BASE-T Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 connector)
Wireless Connectivity 802.11b/g WLAN
Multimedia Features HP Imprint Finish & HP Webcam with Integrated Microphone
Sound Altec Lansing
Keyboard 101-key compatible & 2 Quick Launch Buttons-HP Quick Play Menu and DVD
Pointing Device Touch Pad with On/Off button and dedicated vertical scroll Up/Down pad
PC Card Slots

1 ExpressCard/54 Slot (also supports ExpressCard/34)

External Ports

5-in-1 integrated Digital Media Reader for Secure Digital cards, MultiMedia cards, Memory Stick, Memory Stick Pro, or xD Picture cards3 Universal Serial Bus (USB) 2.02 Headphone out - 1 w/SPDIF Digital Audio & 1 stereo1 microphone-in1 VGA (15-pin)1 TV-Out (S-video)1 RJ-11 (modem)1 RJ -45 (LAN)1 notebook expansion port 31 IEEE 1394 Firewire (4-pin)1 Consumer IR

Dimensions 14.05" (L) x 10.12" (W) x 1" (min H)/1.56" (max H)
Weight 6.8 lbs
Security

Kensington® MicroSaver lock slotPower-on passwordAccepts 3rd party security lock devices

Power

65W AC Adapter12-Cell Lithium-Ion battery
Dgreenphotography is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 09:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7

k so I found a driver bundled in the HP chipset drivers from HP's support page. Windows installer recognizes the driver, but still finds no disk after loading driver. Im at a loss. I just want to install my operating system and get on with my life...
Dgreenphotography is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 11:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Instal 3rd party raid driver to upgrade to windows 7

There is no RAID driver for your laptop as RAID uses multiple (at least two drives); you only have the one.

Since you only have the single SATA drive, the BIOS should only see it and no other. If you have an external drive hooked up, disengage it until the install is finished. Windows SHOULD be able to utilize the SATA drive as is without any additional drivers. the drivers from the HP website should be installed after Windows is up and running as they are better than the default Windows drivers, but Windows will use its own drivers to install itself.

If you are trying to hit F6 and install a 3rd party RAID driver... STOP! That does not apply to your situation at all. Ignore it and it will pass in a few seconds and continue on with the install. If it won't, use GParted to format your driver and start over from scratch... without trying to install a RAID driver.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 11:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Default

ok tried formatting. bios recognises the drive and active boot recognizes it but the windows disk still finds no disk when it comes to the screen where you choose install location.

i unplugged all other drives at this point as well and still nothing.
__________________

Dgreenphotography is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
Need some opinions on upgrades publicladykilla New Systems | Building and Buying 9 04-09-2010 02:59 AM
Win 7 upgrade... maximas Microsoft Windows and Software 21 11-17-2009 11:00 PM
BSOD ERROR ON SISGRV.DLL hubbardukhh Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 09-08-2009 08:59 AM
Home Edition Troubles ChemicalMonkey Microsoft Windows and Software 34 01-20-2008 09:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.