Inspiron 1525 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2010, 08:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona State University
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to bloodzero
Default Inspiron 1525

UPDATE: Inspiron 1545, not 1525.


1) I know it's not possible to upgrade the Video Card on these Laptops after they are shipped, but I was wondering if I could swap out the Motherboard with a motherboard from an upgraded Inspiron 1525. I really want to be able to watch Blu-Ray movies on my laptop.

2) Optical drive. Is it possible to put in a blu-ray player optical drive into this laptop? I'm not familiar with the building of laptops at all and don't know how interchangeable some of the parts are.

3) SSD. What are my options in changing out the HD to be a SSD? Is there a specific size I need to find?
__________________

bloodzero is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 10:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Inspiron 1525

1. No. An updated board may be of a different shape.

2. In the olden days, yes, these days, I'm not sure. Call up Dell, and see if it is possible.

3. You need a 2.5" disk. I'm not sure if they are made for laptops.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona State University
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to bloodzero
Default Re: Inspiron 1525

What do you mean it could be of a different shape?

Also, if I upgrade the CPU, how complicated is this process?
bloodzero is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Inspiron 1525

The holes that secure it to the case may not line up.

If you are not familiar with laptops, I would advise against it. You could easily break it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Inspiron 1525

Quote:
Originally Posted by bloodzero View Post
UPDATE: Inspiron 1545, not 1525.


1) I know it's not possible to upgrade the Video Card on these Laptops after they are shipped, but I was wondering if I could swap out the Motherboard with a motherboard from an upgraded Inspiron 1525. I really want to be able to watch Blu-Ray movies on my laptop.

2) Optical drive. Is it possible to put in a blu-ray player optical drive into this laptop? I'm not familiar with the building of laptops at all and don't know how interchangeable some of the parts are.

3) SSD. What are my options in changing out the HD to be a SSD? Is there a specific size I need to find?
1. unless you are replacing it with the EXACT same mobo then no. The secure points might not line up like MoM said. Along with that your changing the hardware of a OEM machine which would mean a new license of Windows to operate the machine.

2. Only if you can find a Blu-Ray drive that will fit a laptop and is the dimensions you need.

3.. Again if you can find a SSD that is of decent size that is 2.5" to fit in the same spot as your current HDD. But truth be told, it isnt going to be worth it. You are going to lose massive amounts of space to go SSD. Unless you dont care about the space.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bloodzero View Post
What do you mean it could be of a different shape?

Also, if I upgrade the CPU, how complicated is this process?
You cant upgrade the CPU. Not unless you get one that can worth with your current mother board. If you have to swap out mother boards, the process is only the start of your worries as you will have to buy another copy of Windows to run it.

Differences between OEM and Retail

You have a OEM version installed now that came with the machine. Switching out the mother board is equal to building a new machine in Microsoft's eyes and will not allow you to use your current copy of Windows.

Microsoft: Upgraded Motherboard = New Windows Licence - Aviran’s Place

So you have more to worry about than just the whole can it be done aspect.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona State University
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to bloodzero
Default Re: Inspiron 1525

I'm familiar with desktop computers, just never really took apart a laptop to upgrade it. Is installing the CPU similar to doing it on a desktop?

I found this motherboard and it fits directly with my current motherboard (screws line up). Would that make it possible to swap motherboards and use the other one?

My Motherboard: G849F
Swap: H314N

The OS isn't an issue with me. I have another copy of W7. Neither is space with an SSD. I was looking at the SSD's because I love how fast they boot up and heard they use less power. Which is a definite plus for a laptop. I'd only get a 64 GB SSD. Only really need it for OS/APPS/10ish GB music.

I already know the CPU is compatible with the motherboard. Going to upgrade to the P8700.
bloodzero is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Inspiron 1525

It is a totally different beast than doing a desktop. You have to disassemble the entire unit basically to do what you want. If you dont take good notes or remember what you did, you wont get it back together and operational again. Not to mention that the keyboard and monitor cables are just thin strips that can be easily damaged, cut or broken adds to the frustration.

So if the mobo lines up and you can verify that, it should work no problem. But as i have already said, you will need to buy a new copy of Windows.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona State University
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to bloodzero
Default Re: Inspiron 1525

Well, let's say I record a video of me disassembling the computer. Would that be ideal for taking it apart? Cause the upgrades are something I definitely want to do. And I'd love to learn about laptops in the process. Gotta start somewhere right?

I'm also sure there might be some good manuals/guides on taking apart my specific laptop. So I think some good internet research will help. Not gonna dive into this project unprepared!
bloodzero is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Inspiron 1525

If you want to take the risk, go ahead. We are not responsible if it breaks or you waste money.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Inspiron 1525

I would definitely make sure to check for guides, tutorials and such on places like YouTube and that. Along with reading what you can about it. My first experience with a laptop was working on someone else's to replace a hard drive. I didnt realize how much actually went into it. I took well over 150 pictures of everything. From where each screw was removed from to labeling each screw to know where it went back to.

I documented everything on paper and on my camera. Just so i could show them the condition and verify that i didnt screw it up on them. nothing happened thank goodness as i reinstalled Windows and away they went with no problems. But i made sure to take extra precaution to work on a laptop as it is totally opposite than a desktop.

If you do your research and document what you do, you should be fine.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get Dell Inspiron 1525 WIFI to work after Operating System reinstall sflink Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 01-24-2010 12:10 PM
Dell Inspiron 1525 freezing majorjim Laptops and Notebooks 5 01-03-2010 09:22 AM
Inspiron 17 vs Studio 17? lucas755 Laptops and Notebooks 0 11-15-2009 09:46 PM
Dell Launches Inspiron Zino HD SFF PC Osiris New Technology and Products 0 11-14-2009 12:43 PM
Dell Inspiron 9300 upgrade Jlagreca Laptops and Notebooks 4 09-09-2007 06:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.