If your laptop came with an IDE drive... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2008, 12:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

I assume it's unlikely that it would have a SATA port to replace the IDE drive with a SATA drive?

Just curious.

In fact I don't even know what kind of drive is in this laptop, but I'm willing to bet it's an IDE. How do I find out? BIOS?
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 01:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

Very but if you have a newish laptop it will most likely have a SATA drive.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

Open it up and take a look. That's how you'd find out.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
Open it up and take a look. That's how you'd find out.
And that won't void my warranty?
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 06:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

It shouldnt, your allowed to open it up to update ram, so your story can be you were going to do so, but then decided not to upgrade ram after seeing inside... yeah thatll do... lol.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 10:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

love the sig zed.
and jay your drive is sata.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 12:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce View Post
And that won't void my warranty?
Nope. You might run into some trouble if they press you about it (no idea how or why they would) but it is actually illegal for them to void your warranty for such a thing. And if they do press it, say you had Geeksquad open it up, not you yourself. Who makes your laptop, anyways? I thought you'd said it was HP but I don't see you writing that. Just curious.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 03:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

Yeah, as jorsoft03 said, it's illegal for a manufacturer to void your warranty for doing self-repairs. The only way they can void your warranty is if you break something in the process. Then they obviously wouldn't be responsible for fixing it.

For most laptops, the hard drive is directly under a panel that takes one or two screws to remove. Once you remove the panel, you should be able to see the hard drive and read the specs on the label. If it's up-side-down, there's usually a plastic tab that you pull (give it a strong tug) and the drive will pop out. Then you can flip it over to see the specs.

IMO, when it comes to replacing RAM and hard drives, modern laptops are easier to work on than desktops.
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

I'm with ya there, Kubel. Just a couple of screws and everything slides right out. Way faster than dealing with a desktop.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 07:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: If your laptop came with an IDE drive...

Hello,

You can check in device manager to see if your hard drive is PATA or SATA.
Alternatively, you can usually check in your BIOS settings, but specific information about the hard drive isn't always displayed.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
IDE hard drive to SATA connector? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-29-2007 09:08 AM
laptop drive yoshi Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-20-2007 07:14 AM
CD drive and hard drive on the same IDE cable? Disillusion New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-14-2007 10:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.