IBM R40 booting to HD problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2008, 10:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via Yahoo to DaPurpleRT
Question IBM R40 booting to HD problems

I bought a used R40 that was lacking a HDD, so I bought an 80 gig IBM one from ebay. Popped in and a windows xp cd in. XP detects the hdd, formats it, copies files, then reboots pc..... but it goes right back into setup. It refuses to boot off the hard drive alone if I take the CD out, says "operating system not found" even though I watched it copy all the setup files to the HD.... Ideas??
__________________

DaPurpleRT is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IBM R40 booting to HD problems

Hello,

It has not finished the setup. There are 2 steps in the setup. The first is to copy the files over then it goes to the 2nd step after it reboots to finish the install. Let it finish!

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: IBM R40 booting to HD problems

Yes, the first step it boots from CD and copies files to the HDD, the second step it boots from the HDD and installs the files from there (though it might still need the CD, but it boots from HDD).

Go into BIOS and see if the HDD is detected, change boot order to allow it to boot from HDD.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 08:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: IBM R40 booting to HD problems

A stuck keyboard key could cause windows setup to run repeatedly. But I can't see how that would keep windows setup from completing.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 09:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via Yahoo to DaPurpleRT
Default Re: IBM R40 booting to HD problems

Yeah fellas, I've done this a couple times before. If I remove the cd or set ti to goto HD first it says "Operating SYstem not found" even though XP setup has copied all the files ove rand restarted the pc likes it suppose to.
DaPurpleRT is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IBM R40 booting to HD problems

Hello,

Please read my post again. There is a 2nd step to the install. Which still requires the CD. The setup is NOT complete after it restarts. Let it finish.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 10:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via Yahoo to DaPurpleRT
Default Re: IBM R40 booting to HD problems

Yes, I've tried it with the cd still in, and tried letting it boot cd first, and hd first. HD first it says no op. system, cd first ti goes righ tback into the initital blue screen install and tries to copy the files again, keeps repeating that.... its like it doesnt write an MBR for the hd or something.

Thanks, Ryan
DaPurpleRT is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 01:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: IBM R40 booting to HD problems

Does it have the latest bios?
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via Yahoo to DaPurpleRT
Default Re: IBM R40 booting to HD problems

No, but I dont have any way to update them unless I get a USB floppy drive. Do you really think that bios from 2005 would cause it to do what it's doing?
DaPurpleRT is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 10:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IBM R40 booting to HD problems

Hello,

Yes a outdated BIOS can be a big problem. Some BIOS issues are the cause for Vista install issues. It might be worth it to try and update the BIOS.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crazy booting problems (emphasis in the "s") damiancds Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-02-2008 06:53 PM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Booting problems f_lightning2001 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-28-2007 12:35 AM
Problems booting: Mobo error Base memory detect? Hookster264 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-10-2007 12:08 PM
Harddrive problems Shafra Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-29-2007 05:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.