I want to get better reception range with my Toshiba Satellite - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2009, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default

I'm running XP and the built-in wireless card works great. However, there are parts of my house that have very poor signal.

When I'm at work and on break in the lounge, the wireless is so weak that its almost unusable.

What about those wireless devices that plug into USB ports? I've looked at some on CompUSA's website. Many are for USB2.0 and I don't think I've got that. I've just got a whole bunch of the standard USB ports.

Thanks for any help you can give.

I think that with the proper cable (2.0 on one end and std USB on the other) I can use these "2.0" devices.

Will I get better range? Anyone have any experience with any of these things?
__________________

dannyual767 is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: I want to get better reception range with my Toshiba Satellite

How old is the laptop? If you plug in any USB device (newer ones mostly, such as an mp3 player, mouse, etc.) do you get the message that says "this device can perform faster"? If so, then you have USB 1.1. if not, then your ports are USB 2.0. And those usb dongles may or may not give you better range. You could always see if you can put a range extender antenna on your router to boost the range throughout the house.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 01:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: I want to get better reception range with my Toshiba Satellite

Walls, doors, and floors will also effect the stregth of your wireless signal. Your best bet for at home is to have your router centrally located, so you can get a better signal all around.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 08:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Re: I want to get better reception range with my Toshiba Satellite

My Toshiba isn't quite 2 yrs old yet. I think that it must have the 2.0USB ports. I think I was led down a wrong path when I was looking at a picture of some other port on CompUSA's website. It led me to believe that the new 2.0 ports were different.

I've read the reviews of some of the products on Comp's website. Some seem to offer a signal improvement. I think that I'm going to give one of them a try.

I'm also thinking about installing a better antenna on my home D Link router for better router coverage. However, at work I'm still going to need a better antenna for my laptop to pick up our wireless coverage in the break lounge.
dannyual767 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.