I really hate vista!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2009, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default I really hate vista!!!!!

GAAAAH

I have my laptop all charged up, put it in standby and throw it in my backpack. I go to class, end up not using it, come to eat lunch, pull it out and...it's really ********* hot! WTF is up with Vista, it is the only OS I know of that likes to randomly jump out of standby and smoke your PC to insane temperatures while it is in a bag, not to mention drain your battery in its stupid mess. The PC should ONLY EVER 100% wake up when I TELL IT TO by opening the screen/pressing the ON button/etc, not randomly. However, all it does is either turn itself on without warning or power up and never actually come back (the PC turns back on but the screen remains blank).

Why does Vista utterly fail at power management? It's seriously not that hard.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 05:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: I ***#*$*&#$%*(#$& hate vista!!!!!

I have never noticed my install of vista on my laptop doing that, could be the switch on the board that controls the sleep mode signal is messed up... I would just shut the laptop down completly before headed out to class and such.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 05:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: I ***#*$*&#$%*(#$& hate vista!!!!!

Something had to cause it to wake up. Computers don't wake themselves up randomly.

Quote:
smoke your PC to insane temperatures
Don't you have an overclocked dual core or something?


Quote:
not to mention drain your battery in its stupid mess.
What did you expect it to do? Even in standby laptops use power. learn to turn it off. Nothing you have is that important that you need instant access to your files.

Quote:
Why does Vista utterly fail at power management? It's seriously not that hard.
Are you sure that you have the power scheme set to laptop? Vista may think it is a desktop, you should check that. With computers there is always an explanation, you just have to find it. Getting mad wont help.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: I ***#*$*&#$%*(#$& hate vista!!!!!

Not sure exactly what's happening, it's done it before a few times but only in Vista, maybe I'll try using XP for a while and see what happens.

The weird thing is that standby in general is messed up in Vista, if I'm in high performance mode and try to standby while plugged in, it doesn't, it goes to the login page and that's it. If I do the same while in low power mode, it goes into standby fine. If I'm in low power then pressing the Power button makes it go into standby while it shuts down in High Performance. I have a dedicated standby button (Fn F5) so I don't need Power to change function...stupid default settings.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 05:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I ***#*$*&#$%*(#$& hate vista!!!!!

You surre you've set it up in power correctly?

Really sounds like its misconfigured.

I just had this issue with my palm treo... somehow I changed the power settings 3 menus deep.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 06:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I ***#*$*&#$%*(#$& hate vista!!!!!

ive never used hibternate or stand by with my laptop, its either off or on...

Seems to stave off alot of problems..
Ste is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 06:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I ***#*$*&#$%*(#$& hate vista!!!!!

Power button. Thats all i'm saying. Vista takes all of 30 seconds to boot.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 07:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: I ***#*$*&#$%*(#$& hate vista!!!!!

Takes forever if you have stuff installed, though I usually shut down the stupid power button maps itself to standby in low power mode.

My PDA (Axim X50v Windows Mobile 6.1) has a similar issue, stupid mobile devices and their idiotic standby failures.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 07:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: I ***#*$*&#$%*(#$& hate vista!!!!!

Then just change it. You can remap all of that stuff in the power management.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 08:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ApolloIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to ApolloIV
Default Re: I ***#*$*&#$%*(#$& hate vista!!!!!

Mine randomly jumps out of sleep to. I'll have it on my desk and put it to sleep before I go to bed and I'll wake up the next morning and it'll be awake or it'll wake me up in the middle of the night because of how **** bright the logon screen is.

I've also noticed that if you boot it up without it plugged in and its set to high performance it takes a good 1-3 minutes before you can actually do anything on it. This is on my HP and it also does it on 2 of my buddies laptops, ones a toshiba satelite and the other is a viao. Weird ****.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Q6600 2.8ghz for the time being
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB
GPU: VisionTek Radeon HD 4850 512MB
HDD: Barracuda 250GB
PSU: Rosewill Stallion Series RD600N
ApolloIV is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing VISTA from dual Vista/XP installation sam321 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-06-2009 02:15 PM
Six Vista annoyances fixed in Windows 7 KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 26 01-10-2009 03:10 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Ugh, I'm starting to HATE vista... c0rr0sive Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-15-2007 07:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.