i have a problem need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2011, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default i have a problem need help

i have problem with my laptop i want to format it to win xp but i dont know why i have blue screen in the medel of the win xp loding the drivers i have lenovo i dpad model no y550 pleez help me i want to install win xp serves pack 3 corently i have win 7 home permum thenk you
__________________

uaeboy is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 07:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: i have a problem need help

You need to tell us the error
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 07:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: i have a problem need help

Like paton said, give us the STOP code error, as well as the text in all caps at the top of the screen (e.g. UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_DRIVE).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 07:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: i have a problem need help

stop 0x0000007b(0xf78d2524xox00000000,ox00000000)
this is the eror number
uaeboy is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: i have a problem need help

Firstly: is it getting the error when you boot off of the XP CD?

Since it's doing it while loading drivers, is the HDD SATA? Can you enable IDE mode in the BIOS for SATA drives? Your XP CD may be bad as well.

If you're able to get to the setup screen for XP, press R to enter the recovery console, and type in the following command when at the C prompt:
chkdsk /f /r

This will check your HDD for bad sectors and attempt to fix them, if this is the problem.

Also, any reason why you're wanting to switch from Win7 to XP? XP isn't supported anymore, and you might not be able to find drivers for your laptop for XP...
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: i have a problem need help

Carnie, i check, xp's supportd still. The laptops from '09...
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: i have a problem need help

Ah my bad, missed he listed his laptop model, otherwise I woulda checked lol. Thanks for clarifying, paton.

And I meant not supported by MS anymore (or on extended support... so either way, nearing EOL); so drivers aren't guaranteed.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 06:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: i have a problem need help

thank you all for the help the problem solved i changed from SATA to IDE then boot up the cd thenk you and soon i will buld my gaming computer and i will need help from you all
uaeboy is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 07:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: i have a problem need help

Glad to help.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 08:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: i have a problem need help

Great to hear...

Now stick around with your new found knowledge..... Or we'll come take it back!
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with ASUS Modem Router, ADSL Cable problem GRANTA Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-06-2010 05:45 AM
windowns reinstall-video card problem-ram problem fidelitycrisis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-02-2006 05:25 PM
Problem loading on dark age of camelot...maybe a ram problem? LightingBird PC Gaming 0 03-08-2005 11:49 AM
laptop battery problem (i think its a OS problem..) quartz01 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-15-2005 10:52 PM
Hard drive problem? or cable problem? untruehero Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 08-18-2004 08:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.