I can install anything but vista, why? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2010, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greenville, MI
Posts: 58
Question I can install anything but vista, why?

I have a compaq c-500. The COA on the laptop is vista. I install vista and I get 1" text saying unexpected error in installation, can not continue. However I can install XP Home, Pro and Windows 7 no problem.

1st thing, your install disk, get another one. I'm burning it from the same iso I use any other time and I used that same disk on another laptop.

2nd DVD drive. I changed the DVD drive and had the same issue.

3rd Changed the memory. Done

4th and in my opinion, most plausible when we got the laptop in, the screen was messed up. we put in a screen from a Toshiba laptop. The screen is working fine with xp & 7 and the install of vista, does vista automatically do the driver for what should be in the laptop?

Stumped beyond belief,
Cyber's Spot
__________________

cybersspot.com is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: I can install anything but vista, why?

I think your ISO is corrupt, unsure.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: I can install anything but vista, why?

Have you upgraded yoru BIOS? To answer your question, if the ISO is for the Compaq Vista OEM, then yes it does automatically have a driver set for that specific unit. Having a different monitor would cause issues. It sounds like your using a Retail version of XP and Win7 while trying to use the OEM version of Vista. This will cause you problems.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 12:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greenville, MI
Posts: 58
Default Re: I can install anything but vista, why?

I'm thinking your right. I don't have the other identical compaq to swap original screens, but for the moment, I can try a retail version of vista. Thanks for the input.

BTW I did upgrade the bios, that was the fourth thing I did
cybersspot.com is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista install issues - install hangs jakeyman_i_am Microsoft Windows and Software 2 10-23-2008 07:41 PM
trying to install vista weewun Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-22-2007 12:11 PM
install Vista, cd key in use Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-05-2007 07:00 PM
Vista Install jcortes Microsoft Windows and Software 4 10-08-2006 02:43 AM
Install Vista Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-15-2006 10:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.