HP Pavillion dv6000 problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

rokor

Baseband Member
So I bought this laptop off a friend a few months ago for a very reasonable price, but now upon startup, a few seconds in it just shuts off. Ever since I had it it has had battery problems(I had to have it plugged in for it to work), but now it doesnt work at all. Any idea on what the problem is, and any possible solutions?

The DV line of HP laptops are not a good choice.

Do you see any BSOD before it shut down?

Did you take the battery out when you ran off AC?

Nope, just shut down once randomly and hasnt started fully since. And nope, I left the battery in. The battery would last about a minute or two after a full charge if that matters. And I'm not too good with laptops, but is there anything I could do to the hardware to make it a more powerfull laptop?

Take the battery out and see if it works any better with just AC.

The only thing you can upgrade is the RAM and HDD. You can upgrade the CPU, but you won't benefit anything from it.

You should start saving up for a new notebook.

Nope, no difference :( The reason I got it in the first place was because it was $90. What if I was to replace all of the hardware to something better? Is that even possible?

To replace all the hardware could cost as much as another cheap low end laptop. Stay AWAY from the DV series, they are HORRIBLY built. One of them, I think it was in the 6xxx line, they wanted to apparently save some copper, so they made the heatsink a bit too small, and used FOAM PADS, SEVERAL foam pads to make up the gap between the CPU and heatsink... I managed to save that laptop by placing a penny between the heatsink and cpu, with gobs of paste.... Brought the CPU down by 20C.

So do your self a favor, toss it, it's probably a fried processor.