HP dv4-1413tx vista 64-bit drivers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2009, 02:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default HP dv4-1413tx vista 64-bit drivers

Hey people. i have the above HP dv4-1413tx lappie as mentioned. it's running on 32-bit vista, but i'd like to upgrade it to a 64-bit. problem is HP web discontinued support for this lappie's drivers and i can't find any of its drivers for vista 64bit.. any idea how can i go about getting/doing it?
thx
__________________

junkki is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 03:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: HP dv4-1413tx vista 64-bit drivers

You can try to find out what components compose the laptop and get drivers from the manufactures if available.

More importantly, what are your reasons for needing to run the laptop with a 64bit OS?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 03:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: HP dv4-1413tx vista 64-bit drivers

because it comes with a 4gb ddr2 ram. the 32bit vista would be underrunning the 4gb..
and by components, do u mean the processor, graphics card, sound cards, ports etc etc?
junkki is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 03:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: HP dv4-1413tx vista 64-bit drivers

by components i mean:
chipset
ethernet
sound card
graphics
card readers or any other accessories you may have.

Depending upon you video memory 32bit vista would recognize up to 3.5gb of RAM.
Not really worth the effort IMO for the extra .5 to .75gb of memory.

But, by all means if you want to do it go for it.
I would search google for the model of laptop you have and "upgrade to vista 64bit" to see if anyone else has done this and which drivers they used. It could save you a bunch of time.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 04:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: HP dv4-1413tx vista 64-bit drivers

really? cuz i heard it's only gonna use like 3gb of e ram.. if it's 3.5gb den nah i wouldnt u/g. hmm my graphics card is nvidia geforce G105M 512mb.. any idea?
thx
junkki is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 04:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: HP dv4-1413tx vista 64-bit drivers

so it can use 3.5 - .512 from gpu = 3gb that windows can use.
That is why I had "depending upon your video memory".
If you had one that was only 128mb then that would be all that you would subtract from 3.5.

So check online about your model to see if anyone else has had success finding 64bit drivers for your model.

If not running with 3gb is not bad at all and the difference between 3gb and 4gb is not that much.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a Vista Laptop cyclones Laptops and Notebooks 23 08-01-2008 04:32 PM
Vista already being replaced? plumber4578 Microsoft Windows and Software 52 01-23-2008 01:32 PM
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
NVIDIA drivers and vista 32 bit HELP!!! david15549 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-21-2007 05:40 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.