Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2013, 10:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: isle of man
Posts: 6
Default Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

Hey guys

Just got givin a Hp2710p that just wont post! all the lights come on but the damn thing just wont post! if i press the caps lock, the caps lock key light comes on and vice versa for every blood button with lights, the LED for power comes on and charging. Any ideas? ive done hard resets nothing happend
__________________

manxbodybuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

Check the cpu fan is plugged in first, some systems do not boot without a cpu fan detected.

I'd try reseating, pulling out and putting back in, the ram

Then take off all components but 1 ram stick, cpu and fan, and use the onboard video if its avalible, and boot it.

Also ensure everything is plugge in. There should be the 24pin plugged in as well as a 4 pin up by the cpu.

Try those and report. You may need to find a speaker to liusten for beeps.
\
Welcome to TF.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: isle of man
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

Hey guys just found out there is no cable... Where does it go can I replace it
manxbodybuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

Which cable?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 03:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: isle of man
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

The 24 pin
manxbodybuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

it is a standard/every power supply has oine.

So you should have it attached, so just find it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: isle of man
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

There is only a 4 pin connector for the fan?!?! honestly guys it has not got one im rather confused as their is a socket for it! is this the socket for the cpu power?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hp.jpg (14.9 KB, 5 views)
manxbodybuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 09:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

Ah crap, sorry man, I should have checked before but I just realized this is a laptop.

None of what I said about cable is useful.

Laptops are a different bag of tricks to check out and is very limited in what TO DO.

Is the fan plugged in for the cpu?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: isle of man
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

its ok mate normally im quite good on these things but im so confused by this one ahaha and yeah its all plugged in
manxbodybuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 12:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Hp 2710P no display or cpu fan, but lights work

Have you tried booting without the battery?
i've heard before some people had a battery issue and it wouldn't get enough power to boot.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.