How's this laptop for gaming?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Necrokat

Solid State Member
hello, and good to be here. i need some advice. by Googling, i'm finding no reviews or info on this...

Micro Center - Toshiba Satellite L755-S5258 Laptop Computer - Matrix Graphite PSK1WU-05N004

wife's wanting to get this, but i'd like it to play some games. like maybe Fallout 3 and New Vegas. i'm a PC noob. is it capable of playing those games on medium to high settings? is it a decent laptop?

if not, is there a laptop out there in a somewhat comparable price range (can be maybe $100 or so more) that'll play games decently? thanks!

that laptop does not have a dedicated graphics card, which means it can only run games on low or lowest settings.

That laptop has integrated graphics. Not the best for games. If you want to stay within that price range, I can suggest something else.

Link

Both the Acers are neck to neck in CPU and GPU performance. They are both points apart in benchmarks. You won't probably notice anything between the two in gaming.

Edit: ninja'd

thank you much MOM! that looks to be a really nice laptop. i hadn't thought Acer to be a good brand but that looks sweet. sounds like the trackpad isn't good but wife'd use a mouse and for my gaming i'd use a Windows 360 controller sometimes.

1. a question about the display tho. 1600 X 900 reso. i'd be gaming w/ this hooked up to my 55" HDTV. would i be able to get better resolutions on my TV that way, or is 1600/900 the best the laptop can output? or is that just what the laptop screen is capable of?

2. oh and you mention "Both the Acers are neck to neck in CPU and GPU performance. They are both points apart in benchmarks."...
i only see 1 Acer in the link you gave. are there supposed to be 2, or were u comparing the Toshiba & Acer?

thanks again for the info and link! for our 1st laptop, i think we'll get that Acer Aspire AS7741G-6426 and a cooling pad. wonder how much to upgrade to 8gb