How to reinstall an O/S - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2008, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default How to reinstall an O/S

k, im trying to sell my g1s a1 and i was wondering how i can delete everything off the hard drive and reinstall Vista, also when i bought the laptop i didnt get the os but i got the recovery dvd so i dont actually have vista, but i have the oem vista i got with my custom build (sig) can i just use that? Also 1000$, Good price?
__________________

__________________
E8400 @ 4.0 GHz . Maximus Formula . Antec 900 . HD 3870 Crossfire . X2 WD Velociraptor RAID 0 . 2 GB Dominator 1066
http://www.youtube.com/user/VEEKDOOR
RyanWhitell is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: How to reinstall an O/S

just format it... and then boot from the Vista CD it came with... or if you dont have the CD it actually came with, you can use a CD from another computer, as long as its the same version of vista, and as long as you use the CD-Key from the laptop's copy of vista to validate, im almost positive...
also, if its in good shape $1000 to me would be a perfectly reasonable price for a laptop like that... you might even get $1250 or more for it... depends haha... good luck - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: How to reinstall an O/S

Formatting doesn't wipe out old data and partitioning info. It's best to use a program that clears the whole drive before installing a new OS.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 09:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: How to reinstall an O/S

Quote:
Originally Posted by KurrentEweser View Post
Formatting doesn't wipe out old data and partitioning info. It's best to use program that clears the whole drive before installing a new OS.
Which would be DBAN: Darik's Boot and Nuke (Hard Drive Disk Wipe)
or Killdisk: Active@ Kill Disk Hard Drive Eraser. Low Level Format.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-03-2008, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default Re: How to reinstall an O/S

uhh ohh, now i have a huge problem, now i think i have a virus and i cant boot windows, i can only go into safe mode, how can i fix this problem i havent done anything to the laptop since i started this tread so im trying to reinstall vista, get everything off my hard drive and i can only do it in safe mode, i need some help!!!!!!!, and i didnt get the original cd-key from ASUS for vista, where do i find it.
__________________
E8400 @ 4.0 GHz . Maximus Formula . Antec 900 . HD 3870 Crossfire . X2 WD Velociraptor RAID 0 . 2 GB Dominator 1066
http://www.youtube.com/user/VEEKDOOR
RyanWhitell is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 08:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: How to reinstall an O/S

OEM copies of Vista shouldn't require a key. The license is on the bios chip. So long as you use the same Vista copy that came with the laptop, Vista should install with no problems.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 03:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: How to reinstall an O/S

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
A must if you ever sell your computer.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 02:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: How to reinstall an O/S

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
A must if you ever sell your computer.
If there was sensitive data on a drive, I'd just buy a new drive for the computer and keep the old drive. And if you are still gonna destroy the data, you'd have to destroy the drive physically, by breaking/melting the platters.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-04-2008, 09:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default Re: How to reinstall an O/S

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanWhitell View Post
uhh ohh, now i have a huge problem, now i think i have a virus and i cant boot windows, i can only go into safe mode, how can i fix this problem i havent done anything to the laptop since i started this tread so im trying to reinstall vista, get everything off my hard drive and i can only do it in safe mode, i need some help!!!!!!!, and i didnt get the original cd-key from ASUS for vista, where do i find it.
ok i didnt get help to my first problem my first problem, how do i get into the bios on this laptop
__________________
E8400 @ 4.0 GHz . Maximus Formula . Antec 900 . HD 3870 Crossfire . X2 WD Velociraptor RAID 0 . 2 GB Dominator 1066
http://www.youtube.com/user/VEEKDOOR
RyanWhitell is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 10:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 168
Default Re: How to reinstall an O/S

k i fixed it its good as new
__________________

__________________
E8400 @ 4.0 GHz . Maximus Formula . Antec 900 . HD 3870 Crossfire . X2 WD Velociraptor RAID 0 . 2 GB Dominator 1066
http://www.youtube.com/user/VEEKDOOR
RyanWhitell is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BF2142 reinstall breaks Windows Cunjo Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-24-2008 05:16 PM
Getting back online after a reinstall. Gr8 Justafa Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 12-16-2007 02:22 PM
do i need reinstall xp windown? caliman System Upgrades 9 10-15-2007 07:59 PM
Lotus Notes - reinstall markhill Microsoft Windows and Software 0 08-09-2007 05:40 AM
Can't reinstall a game (that failed during install) Shafra Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-04-2007 03:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.