How do I link my computer to my TV? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2013, 12:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default How do I link my computer to my TV?

I have a double sided HDMI cable. I see the port on the TV for HDMI and it goes in fine. However there is no HDMI port on my laptop. I have 2 USB ports, a 15 min monitor port, and an ethernet port.

I did a search for "HDMI to USB adapter" and the only ones I can find are an HDMI to a MINI USB cable. I can't find one for a regular size. Any idea what I should do?
__________________

bo0ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,027
Default Re: How do I link my computer to my TV?

a 15 pin monitor port?

That's a VGA connector. Some TV's (my 60" Sharp has one) have VGA connectors on them. I'm assuming yours doesn't?

The micro USB to HDMI are generally used for phones.

Might you be looking for something similar to this?

http://www.amazon.com/Video-Cable-Bl.../dp/B002TUC64W

EDIT: Also, just read. might be important (from the Amazon page there)

Quote:
NOTE: Your Video card must support digital signal output through VGA port function. Please consult with your VGA card's user manual for more information.
__________________

__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do I link my computer to my TV?

Yes I think that would work. Thanks!
bo0ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do I link my computer to my TV?

Actually if you read some of the reviews on it, it sounds like it might only take the video and and not the audio?

"They should have a disclaimer letting you know that VGA to HDMI is not possible simply through a cable. VGA is an analog output, whereas HDMI is a digital output. Without some kind of converter between the two it doesn't work. So a cable that has VGA on one end and HDMI on the other end will not do what you think it will do."


"VGA is an analog medium. HDMI is digital. A VGA to HDMI cable will never work unless your video card provides for digital output through the VGA port. You must use a converter box to convert the analog VGA signal to a digital HDMI signal."
bo0ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,027
Default Re: How do I link my computer to my TV?

You are very welcome!

Ahh yes yes. That's because VGA (the original connection type) doesn't transmit audio. You'd just have to connect audio with another cable.

And about the VGA to HDMI conversion.... That's dependent on your laptops specifications.
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do I link my computer to my TV?

How about something like this:

Newegg.com - HDMI to VGA and Audio Converter ( Support 1080P, Input HDMI, Video Output: VGA, Audio Output: 3.5 mm-outs )

I would put one the double sided HDMI into the TV and into the converter, and then I would buy a double sided VGA and put it in the monitor to the converter
bo0ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,027
Default Re: How do I link my computer to my TV?

That specific box takes HDMI input and outputs it to VGA and 3.5mm. Let me see if I can find a box that'll work.

EDIT: This one looks to fit the bill nicely.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I've bought from Monoprice before, they're a legitimate site
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: How do I link my computer to my TV?

There are USB to HDMI converters that are wireless. Look in to this. They are pricey though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do I link my computer to my TV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
That specific box takes HDMI input and outputs it to VGA and 3.5mm. Let me see if I can find a box that'll work.

EDIT: This one looks to fit the bill nicely.
For only $27.34 each when QTY 50+ purchased - VGA to HDMI® Converter | VGA to HDMI Converters

I've bought from Monoprice before, they're a legitimate site
So with that I would need a separate cable that has a VGA on both ends, correct? So the double sided HDMI would go from the TV to this adapter, and then the double sided VGA would go from this adapter to the laptop?
bo0ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: How do I link my computer to my TV?

how does this have anything to do with building a new computer...?
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.