how do i get WoW trial to run on my laptop? please help i am desperate! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2008, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default how do i get WoW trial to run on my laptop? please help i am desperate!

ok i have a Dell inspiron. then it says it is a windows xp and a pentium M. i have no clue what this means but if you could help me it would be great. here is the problem. when i try to download the trial it brings up a window that shows where to put the folder that it choses, which is program files/world of worcraft trial, i click ok and then it says i cant put it there because it is an invalid path. i try to make a new folder and it says i dont have access to do that. what do i do please help?
__________________

ihowardi is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: how do i get WoW trial to run on my laptop? please help i am desperate!

Hello,

When the windows pops up why not just save it to your desktop? Also are you teh admin of the laptop?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: how do i get WoW trial to run on my laptop? please help i am desperate!

Is this your personal laptop?
Have you ever successfully installed software on it before?
Are you logged in with an account that has Administrator rights?
When you're downloading the trial, are you saving the file you're downloading first? Or are you selecting the option to run it without completely the download first?
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 02:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: how do i get WoW trial to run on my laptop? please help i am desperate!

this is not my personal laptop. well it is mine now, but i bought it off some guy. and i dont have an administrator account, at least it does not show one. i am looking for a restart button thing that resets everything, but it says it is a limited account. what do i do?
ihowardi is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 10:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: how do i get WoW trial to run on my laptop? please help i am desperate!

Hello, stickies are a nice place to visit
below are 3 methods

1. Windows Password Reset Disks/Tools etc.

2.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mBernhardt View Post
There is a live CD called 0phcrack which will recover lost windows passwords.

Unless it is an exceptionally strong password it will get it in a matter of seconds.

3.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mantoadmire View Post
Have you forgotten your Windows Xp Administrator Password, cant remember even after many tries?
Well you can easily change or wipe out your Administrator password during Windows XP Repair.
Here’s step-by-step description of Repair process.

1. Place your XP CD in your rom and start your computer(it’s assumed that you have your bios set to “Boot from CDrom”)
2. Select - Press any key to boot from CD
3. The first screen will indicate that Setup is inspecting your system and loading files.
4. Press ENTER to Setup Windows now
5. The Licensing Agreement comes next - accept it.
6. The next screen is the Setup screen which gives you the option to do a Repair, press R to begin the Repair process.
7. Setup will now check your disks and then start copying files
8. After the Copying Files stage, you will be required to reboot.
9. During the reboot, do not make the mistake of “pressing any key” to boot from the CD again! Setup will resume automatically with the standard billboard screens and you will notice Installing Windows is highlighted.
10. Keep your eye on the lower left hand side of the screen and when you see the Installing Devices progress bar, press SHIFT + F10. This is the Security hole! A command console will now open up giving you the potential for wide access to your system.
11. At the prompt, type NUSRMGR.CPL and press Enter. You will gain graphical access to your User Accounts in the Control Panel.
12. Now simply pick the account you need to change and remove or change your password as you prefer. After you’ve made your changes close the window, exit the command box and continue on with the Repair.
13. Once the Repair is done, you will be able to log on with your new password. Your programs and personalized settings should remain intact.

I tested the above on Windows XP Pro with and without SP1 and SP2.


For more ..
Tech Check
BTW,
BEWARE!
WOW CONSUMES YOUR SOUL AS YOU PLAY IT!!
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 07:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: how do i get WoW trial to run on my laptop? please help i am desperate!

Unless this was a completely above-board sale, I'd seriously suspect it's stolen.
__________________

DoubleHelix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hijack this for a friend jay_bo HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 03-04-2008 10:41 PM
Can Someone Help Me dgriessmann38 HijackThis Logs (finished) 16 02-28-2008 07:13 PM
Hijack this jay_bo HijackThis Logs (finished) 0 02-28-2008 08:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.