How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2016, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

Product Name: HP Omen
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)
HP Omen; Gaming Laptop;

How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

6 months ago I bought an HP Omen and it said it has an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card. But when I play games it's not very fast so when I went into my display settings it's said I was using an Intel 530. When I went into display adapters it says I have both grahics cards so I want to know how to enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M instead of the Intel 530. Thank you for the help!
__________________

Toby123456789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 05:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,423
Default Re: How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

In dedicated/integrated setups like Optimus, usually the built-in display will use the integrated (in this case, Intel) GPU. However, when graphics intensive applications, such as games, are ran, then it will auto-switch to the dedicated (in your case, nVidia 960M).

You can override this behavior for specific applications to make sure and force run it with the dedicated GPU, however. Open up the NVidia Control Panel, go to the 3D (or Performance I can't remember which), settings, and it should allow you to select options per application. Either find your application in the list or add the EXE to the list, and then set the option to "always use NVidia GPU" or "High Performance" mode.

Also, what games are you playing where they're "not very fast"? and at what settings are you playing them at? If they're graphics-intensive enough games, it could just be that the 960M isn't powerful enough to run them.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

Thank you for the reply. I use Warface, Rimworld, Planet side 2 and Cities Skylines. I'm going to check out your advice now.
Toby123456789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

it worked!!! thank you so much! ~Toby
Toby123456789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 07:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,423
Default Re: How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

No problem, glad that sorted it.

Keep in mind that when you update your Nvidia drivers if you choose the "Clean install" option during update, it will clear those settings.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 08:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

thanks..
Toby123456789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 832
Default Re: How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

Or, you could simpy use GeForce experience and let it update the drivers without clearing all your settings
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 10:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,423
Default Re: How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke127 View Post
Or, you could simpy use GeForce experience and let it update the drivers without clearing all your settings
Manually updating drivers won't clear it either - unless you choose the "Clean install" checkbox during install. This option is selectable both during manual install & through GFE.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 10:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

Thanks for the help guys, my computer is running overwatch on 100 fps now!
Toby123456789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 04:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 14
Default Re: How do I enable my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 M graphics card?

First of all keep your IGPU enabled. Go to Nvidia’s Control panel, 3d settings, set Global setting to auto.In the 3d settings go to CSGO profile and select “High performance Nvidia processor”.
__________________

tdknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I go for a GTX 960? Julian043 System Upgrades 12 09-08-2016 04:36 AM
960 gtx 4g vs 970 gtx 1337infamous System Upgrades 2 11-11-2015 09:27 AM
NVIDIA Fermi - GTX 470 - GTX 480 - GTX 480 SLI Review Osiris New Technology and Products 0 03-29-2010 01:38 PM
NVIDIA Fermi - GTX 470 - GTX 480 - GTX 480 SLI Review Osiris New Technology and Products 1 03-26-2010 10:23 PM
Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT 1gb (overclocked) vs Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS 250 512MB SparksN8 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-16-2009 11:07 AM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.