Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2008, 02:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

hey, i have a laptop that just died on me and i need to pull the information off of it....

is there any posibility of hooking up a laptop hdd to a desktop computer.. its the serial ata format, but its apparent it doesnt use the same interface connections.... so i need a little help on how to pull this information off... i can't hook it up to another laptop because of driver issues and whatnot..... and the one laptop i do have with 2 hdd's slots has a busted psu or something of the sort
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 08:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

I don't know whether or not you can hook it up straight to a desktop, but I know that you can use a 2.5" HDD enclosure to plug it into the desktop as an external USB HDD. This will allow you to transfer the information.
Hopefully someone has another way that will allow you to do this without spending money.
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

Correct, they don't use the same interface. You could do what the above poster mentioned, and get an external enclosure. My suggestion would be to purchase a kit that hase the interface you need. Most computer repair shops have them and generally speaking they are cheaper than external enclosures. Then you don't have to spend money on an enclosure that you won't use.

The kits come in a few different varieties, some have both SATA and IDE, laptop/desktop, etc.
Newegg.com - KINAMAX ADP-IDE23 Laptop 2.5" to Desktop 3.5" IDE Hard Drive Adapter Converter - Adapters & Gender Changers
Newegg.com - BYTECC BT-300 USB 2.0 to IDE/SATA Adapter - Adapters & Gender Changers
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

For IDE drives you can buy a pin adapter that lets you connect the smaller connector on the drive to the larger connector on the wire. The signal is exactly the same for IDE drives, so they'll work fine in desktops with an adapter (I had an IDE laptop drive that I had no use for so I used it in my desktop for a year before it died). As for SATA, they too use the same data format as desktop SATA drives, so you won't need a USB or other kind of external controller. You'll just need a special cable that lets you connect the different styled connector on the drive to the PC's SATA port. Look on Newegg and you should find what you're looking for.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 11:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

2.5 USB enclosures aren't too expensive. And since you wont be using the drive in this laptop anymore, you could get a little case with the enclosure and use it as a portable drive full of drivers, games, portable apps... music, I don't know... the list goes on.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

I have 8 enclosures filled with orphaned laptop drives. That's better than leaving them sitting in a drawer.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 02:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

Last night I finally got my laptop SATA drive out and looked at it (it's going back to HP under warranty replacement, but I wanted to see what kind of connection it had).

Laptop SATA drives don't even need an adapter to connect to desktops. They have SATA data and SATA power connections on them. Just plug them in to your desktop and secure it to a drive bay and you've got another hard drive for your desktop.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 02:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
SATA data
How is SATA Data different from PATA Data?

Other than the fact that "SATA Data" is just REALLY fun to say....
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 04:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

Serial ATA data meaning the SATA plug (as opposed to the SATA power plug), the one that carries the signal. Serial ATA and IDE (PATA) have totally different connections, though the data that goes through them, is, I guess, the same (SATA is faster though). My point is, you don't even need an adapter.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 04:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Hooking up laptop hdd to a desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
Serial ATA data meaning the SATA plug (as opposed to the SATA power plug), the one that carries the signal. Serial ATA and IDE (PATA) have totally different connections, though the data that goes through them, is, I guess, the same (SATA is faster though). My point is, you don't even need an adapter.
I was just being a jerk in the nicest way possible Clac, no need to explain yourself I think everyone here knows that you know what you are talking about. I suppose that I was just trying to help clear up the fact that you weren't trying to say that data on a SATA drive is somehow different than that of a PATA drive.

I had 2 Rockstars prior to my comment. Go figure...

Either way, SATA Data is still fun to say

(That rhymed too!!)
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
friends really bad log..needs some major help here. Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 12-07-2007 09:44 AM
Use desktop PC's hard drive with my laptop tzvii Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-05-2007 12:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.