Help me find a gaming laptop under $1100

Status
Not open for further replies.
i would not recommand any nvidia card in a laptop thier desktop card are great but thier laptop cards have a life expectancy of 2 years on normal condition let alone heavy gaming this issue began with the 8800 mobility and has been continuing untill now Dell/alienware ditched nvidia on thier m17x-R2 because of it and we are now begining to ear issue about the 260/280 in the m17x-R1

asus is also know as "reversed MXM" or "driver issue du to unsuported modification done to the graphic card original desing" (faling cooling is also used sometime)

also yeah a non quad and non CFX/SLi setup can cost under 1800 how ever i sugest investigate a long time befor making a purchase such as a gaming lappy

i have no experience with acer how ever so the choise is your's

I stand by ASUS till I die. Cooling is a problem on any laptop, not manufacturer dependent. You need to to keep the GPU cool too give it a prolonged life. When you stress any laptop to its fullest, you will get problems.

I hope you don't mean looking at Newegg review.s :lol: That is retarded. (j/k) But yes, read many reviews to weigh out the good and the bad before you decide.

Acers are better than they were a few years ago. They were using the cheap stuff. They are a lot better now.

wait this thing had a faire review ;p C&C4 by the users of course

no i'm talking about tom's HW reviews etc and even then look at many of thier review for each site some are biaised towards thier prefered brands or just toward the one they know how to use properly EG at NBR some one tested and the 480m is equal to the 5870 mobility given they have the same cpu at notebook cheq the 480m is listed higher but in thier test tey used a desktop I7 for the 480m and a 840QM for the 5870 mob

No offense, but it takes more than 7 days to research. You could have saved us a ton of money if you signed up earlier.