Help with Aspire 1830T wifi - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2011, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 32
Default Help with Aspire 1830T wifi

Hello everyone,
I have a huge problem that's making me want to pull my hair out, and I need your help. I recently got an Acer Aspire 1830T-3927, and the wifi is horrible. It has an Atheros Ar8151 card, and no matter how hard I try with google searches and driver updates, It won't work properly. In my other room, my other Acer notebook captures the wifi perfectly and never goes below 4 bars. This one only gets 2 and sometimes doesn't connect at all after I've turned on the computer. I don't know what else to do. I've even tried installing windows 7 ultimate, instead of using 7 home that came with the notebook, but that hasn't helped either, so I just put it back to factory settings. Could someone please for the love of god help me. It will be greatly appreciated. THANKS!
__________________

Beefdawg is offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help with Aspire 1830T wifi

Another version of 7 wouldn't help. It just has extra programs, doesn't change the performance.

Did you consider getting a new wireless chip? I'm not sure if you can get access to it, though. I had to replace a wireless card in a Dell Vostro 1500 that was acting up. Had to replace the mini-PCI card. If you don't want to go thru that, you can always get a wireless USB.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: Help with Aspire 1830T wifi

I haven't considered a new chip because I don't have any experience with notebooks....Also, I mean it is a possibility to get a usb network adapter, but I want to know why my crappy wifi won't work
Beefdawg is offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help with Aspire 1830T wifi

Could simply be the chip is bad.

If it is still under warranty, RMA it. Be sure to back up all your personal data.

From pics, it looks like you can access the bottom of the case, where the RAM, CPU and possibly wireless mini-PCI card is.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Help with Aspire 1830T wifi

If you go into the same room as the router does it work?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 12:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: Help with Aspire 1830T wifi

Yes it works perfectly
Beefdawg is offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 02:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Help with Aspire 1830T wifi

Then its the stuff in the walls.

Try changing the channel to 1 or 11
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow wifi connection? try Wifi Spray! homerj14 Off Topic Discussion 9 11-08-2006 05:51 PM
Aspire X cruise Mandingo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-26-2005 01:54 AM
Aspire PSU Joeisalsocool Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-01-2005 12:14 AM
WiFi wieless intgernet and wifi router Kbragg Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 03-21-2005 08:08 AM
Aspire XDreamer II Help TDK Overclocking and Modding 4 01-12-2005 11:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.