Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: has this happened to you or a friend?
yes 1 33.33%
no 2 66.67%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2008, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Exclamation Help!

So i got home from school and my laptop greets me with a message looping:

For Realtek RTL8139(X)/8130/810X PCI Fast Ethernet Controller v2.13 (020326)
PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: Exciting PXE ROM'


I searched other forums for answers but nothing helped, I noticed that most the computers this happened to were in fact laptops. I tried this in trouble shoot section but that wasnt any use so since majority of the cases were laptops i decided to post it here.

I tried going into safe mode, no success.
I tried switching the boot order like Hard Drive, Network Adapter,ATAPI CD-ROM Drive, Floppy Diskette Drive( i don't even have a floppy slot), but no success.
I even dusted out my computer tightening everything and nothing.

I then tried to use my computer disks to boot my computer, but when i tried it says "NO HARD DRIVE FOUND, PRESS ANY KEY TO CONTINUE" basically calling me a faggot. Now Im not great with this stuff but I'm not terrible either so im not sure if what i said made to much sense. I looked through a bunch of forums about this but non really helped me. I think that i may have fried my hard drive cause i leave my laptop on a ALOT but usually it turnes screen off and all that good stuff. My laptop is an HP Pavilion dv5000. I would appreciate it if i could get some help, my warranty expired like 2 months ago and i would rather see if i could get help before getting fire dog, or geek squad on this ( so **** expensive). thanks for the help.
__________________

isuckatthis is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Help!

seems your hd is corrupted
have recovery disks? Make boot 1 your cd with the reco in place...see if it can see the hd that way
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
seems your hd is corrupted
have recovery disks? Make boot 1 your cd with the reco in place...see if it can see the hd that way
Make boot 1 your cd with the reco in place whats that mean? if your refering to like the hp recovery disks they dont work
isuckatthis is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Help!

make...the....first...boot....device....lol
etc, make the first boot devide your cd drive...
common sense would then suggest that the above works if you have a disc in the cd drive when you exit bios and reboot...

why does the hp reco not work? THEY don't work or it's just not working for you at the moment?
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 05:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
make...the....first...boot....device....lol
etc, make the first boot devide your cd drive...
common sense would then suggest that the above works if you have a disc in the cd drive when you exit bios and reboot...

why does the hp reco not work? THEY don't work or it's just not working for you at the moment?
I tried it, it still said "no hard drive found"

and im pretty sure the reco disks work
isuckatthis is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 06:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Help!

how old is this thing? does sound like your hd is dead
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 10:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Help!

If you want to boot from a the DVD-Drive, you must change the boot priority in the BIOS. The default setting is almost always the hard drive from the manufacturer.

You can also run Knoppix Knopper.Net Consulting (live Linux CD/DVD)
turtile is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtile View Post
If you want to boot from a the DVD-Drive, you must change the boot priority in the BIOS. The default setting is almost always the hard drive from the manufacturer.

You can also run Knoppix Knopper.Net Consulting (live Linux CD/DVD)
that sites in german lol, and my hd isn't to old i think from 2005, and i never really payed attention to what it sounds like
isuckatthis is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 11:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default Re: Help!

Get these errors all the time at my job. PM me if you haven't fixed it yet.
Thresh is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 07:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Help!

Whats the point in the poll? and it sounds like a dead hard drive to me and have you managed to get into the recovery console?
__________________

__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.