HDD Storage Insufficient? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2012, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default HDD Storage Insufficient?

My laptop was supposed to come with a 750GB HDD. How come that my computer says it only has 279GB? Also, what is "Data D:" in the following picture? Is this part of the storage?

http://s11.postimage.org/eui47pwpe/HDD.jpg
__________________

theryanzhuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: HDD Storage Insufficient?

Yes, that's part of the storage. Your 750GB drive was partitioned is all. Partitioning is just splitting the drive up into different "sections" that are "separate" from each other.

A lot of manufacturers do this nowadays. It's basically so you can store most of your documents / pictures / etc on a different partition, so if you have to reinstall Windows, it won't erase the Data (D: ) partition.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: HDD Storage Insufficient?

Yours only had 2 partitions? Asus was being nice. My 1tb drive was in 4, not including recovery. Did away with that real quick, since my OS isn't on the drive.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default Re: HDD Storage Insufficient?

Does that mean less partitions=better?
theryanzhuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: HDD Storage Insufficient?

Quote:
Originally Posted by theryanzhuo View Post
Does that mean less partitions=better?
Not necessarily. What it means is that if there is an issue with the system and you are forced to factory reset, only the information stored on the C:/OS drive will be affected. Every thing you have on the D:/Data Drive will not be touched by the procedure at all. So you should put your pictures, music and documents on there so that if there is ever an issue, you wont lose that information if you have to format and reinstall.

I for one have 5 Hard Drives split into 12 partitions. This way all of my data is stored apart from the OS. When I format and install various OS's my data is safe as it is never touched by anything that the OS install does.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 02:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: HDD Storage Insufficient?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_extreme View Post
Yours only had 2 partitions? Asus was being nice. My 1tb drive was in 4, not including recovery. Did away with that real quick, since my OS isn't on the drive.
Mine is only 3 including recovery partition.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple HDD Storage w/ Backup? Spit-wad New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-26-2010 03:17 PM
HDD storage solidsteve System Upgrades 1 02-15-2009 02:16 PM
HDD storage issue dr_er Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-04-2007 07:25 AM
HDD storage issue dr_er Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-02-2007 10:54 PM
RAID for storage but single HDD for OS? Dr Nick New Systems | Building and Buying 0 02-04-2006 05:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.