Harddrive is Full?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2010, 12:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 72
Default Harddrive is Full??

I was looking at some files today in on my computer and decided to check out how much space i had left on my hard drive. Aparently i have 180 gigs of information on my laptop..and i reinstalled windows last week..last week. I have put office, AIM, a few other music and video editing programs and thats it. Is it possible that when i installed Win7 that it saved the entire image of Vista that was on here before?
__________________

markpelly is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 12:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Harddrive is Full??

It shouldn't take up 180GB. Did you do a virus scan recently? try Malwarebytes too.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 72
Default Re: Harddrive is Full??

Well i just started a scan on Avast and im going to do one MalwareBytes soon. While i was watching this scan, i saw Avast scanning things that arent even my laptop. The laptop had vista before with a whole bunch of bloatware and im seeing all the "HP Games" being scanned at the moment. i dont even have that stuff on here..
markpelly is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Harddrive is Full??

That might be in a hidden folder or something.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 72
Default

I just searched the computer and there is defiantly a backup of all the old files from when Vista was on here..is there a simple way to get rid of all that? is it easy enought to just delete the entire Program Files folder?

there are two program files folders..one that just says "Program Files" which im pretty sure is Win7's. and then there is a "Program Files x86" which has a whole crap load of stuff on it..
markpelly is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Harddrive is Full??

In Windows x64, there are two separate folders.

I think there is a folder in C:/ that is called winnt_old or something like that.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 72
Default Re: Harddrive is Full??

its just called Windows.old, and there is def the remnants of that OS on here still. I guess i could try another clean install this weekend?
markpelly is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Harddrive is Full??

That would be best, yeah.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 72
Default Re: Harddrive is Full??

sounds good, thanks for trouble shooting with me.
markpelly is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Harddrive is Full??

The file called windows.old is your install of Vista. That is why your hard drive is full. You didnt format the drive when you installed Windows 7. Remove that file and free up space.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I transfer my entire harddrive contents to another harddrive? soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-10-2009 02:14 PM
Windows Backup Utility Shows full but DAT72 not full Boma Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2009 03:03 PM
Harddrive won't recognize full capacity... JT11 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 08-03-2007 02:47 PM
Why is my harddrive full ! there is nothing installed ! illnastyimpreza Microsoft Windows and Software 12 07-22-2007 08:39 PM
New Harddrive, Should I Do Quick Or Full Format? provoko Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 10-04-2004 11:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.