Hard drive switch - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2011, 04:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default Hard drive switch

okay, i just opened my Aspire 5100 ( Piece of **** it is ). I want to harvest it for parts into my Hp. This is my first time opening any laptop of any sort, and plan to keep doing it. I know how to take out and put in the hard drive. I just want to know if my Aspire 5100's hard drive with windows xp, will work on my HP laptop with windows 7? if so would that make my hp have windows 7? (should be simple to answer, its just a comprehension issue). Thanks =)
__________________

rgrant1993 is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 07:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MyGodAL3X's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 460
Default Re: Hard drive switch

Do you want to install Windows 7 on it?
If so yeah there shouldn't be a problem, but the install with delete all your data so make sure to back it up.
If you want to just put a hard drive with an OS in a different PC and run that OS, odds are it won't work.
__________________

__________________
"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid." - Albert Einstein
Rep me if I helped you out
MyGodAL3X is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default Re: Hard drive switch

so your saying that if i take my hard drive with windows xp and replace it with my hard drive with windows 7. my Hp laptop with windows 7 will then have windows xp?
rgrant1993 is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 632
Default Re: Hard drive switch

You can't take an HDD with XP or Win 7 on it and install it in a different laptop and expect it to work as it will require completely different drivers. You could swap the HDD and install whichever OS you want on it but a straight swap won't work.
strollin is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default Re: Hard drive switch

gotcha
rgrant1993 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I switch games to a different hard drive? Twizted_3kgt New Systems | Building and Buying 7 01-23-2008 02:19 PM
How do I switch hard drives? PcMe System Upgrades 5 11-19-2005 03:42 AM
switch XBOX hard drive IBMan Microsoft XBox 9 09-10-2005 11:59 PM
hard drive switch lando9 System Upgrades 3 08-26-2005 08:00 PM
Move 30GB Hard Drive Data To New 120GB Hard Drive DavidWatersUGP Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 11-19-2004 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.