Hard Drive Issue... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2009, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 24
Default Hard Drive Issue...

This is really upsetting me. My hard drive on my laptop is divided into 2 parts, one with 50 gb, the other with 200+ gb. My problem is that a lot of stuff I install always goes to the 50 gb one, which is the C:/ drive that's almost full now.
ex: call of duty 4 and microsoft office 2007 installed directly into my C drive.

How can I redirect future installations to my D drive, which is 200+ gb? Thanks in advance!
__________________

echox91 is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Hard Drive Issue...

It depends on the application being installed. Some will offer you the option to choose the install location. You will then have to choose where to install. but other than that you would have to modify the Registry in order to made the other partition the default install location which is tricky at best.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 11:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Hard Drive Issue...

yea..i tried modifying the regedit..didn't turn out quite well
ugh this succks =\
echox91 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hard Drive Issue...

You can use gparted to change the partition size (making your c drive larger) or you will need to manually selected the partition you want to install to.
GParted -- Download
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Hard Drive Issue...

Quote:
Originally Posted by echox91 View Post
How can I redirect future installations to my D drive, which is 200+ gb? Thanks in advance!
Instead of pressing NEXT, NEXT, NEXT, NEXT, NEXT, NEXT, NEXT, NEXT, OK the when you install program, you might want to read what is on the screen. Especially that part where it says Custom Install and Install Path.

Change the drive later from C to D.

Then proceed to install your programs.

All programs by default will install on C Drive. Most programs can be install on other drivers. However keep in mind, you might have some program that need to run from C?

What OS are you using?If it's windows Vista, I would be suggestion that you resize your partition to at least 80Gb. 40Gb and Vista fill up very fast.


The other thing that you can do is redirect your Documents to D Drive too. Open your start menu and right click MY DOCUMENTS, select properties, then location. From there you will be able to change your default location for your documents. If you are using Vista, then you are going to need to do the same thing with Music, Videos and Pictures (if you use those other folders too)
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Hard Drive Issue...

yeah i directed like every folder i use to the d drive. it seems that my best option is to resize..so ill give that a go as soon as i can find a reliable program.

and..GParted says there are no available mirrors to download the files from...
echox91 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 11:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hard Drive Issue...

Download GParted from SourceForge.net
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 04:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Hard Drive Issue...

Are you running vista? you can resize partitions in vista.

START --> Control Panels --> Administrative Tools --> Computer Management --> Disk Management

Right click on your partition and you can re-size your partition.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 10:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Hard Drive Issue...

i fixed my problem...but in a way i wasn't sure how lol

disk management at first didnt work cuz i couldnt expand anything (it was always greyed out)..only allocate space. in the end i somehow deleted my d drive, was able to then put whatever was there into my c drive. then my whole operating system died so i had to install another one..everything got erased except the edited hard drive. i was happy.
echox91 is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 10:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Hard Drive Issue...

well that's good. ^_^

for future reference, Asus makes a nice little program called Auto C2D which changes the default install path to D:\program files instead of C:

http://dlsvr.asus.com/pub/ASUS/EeePC.../AutoC2D_3.zip
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building new Computer - is my new Hard Drive bad? King$nake Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 01-15-2009 12:13 PM
issue with new hard drive mikee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 11-18-2008 12:20 AM
Hard drive noise Asterix Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-10-2008 04:03 PM
Hard Drive Issue While Installing OS WeeZy Ef Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-16-2008 02:51 AM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.