Graphics Cards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2007, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Question Graphics Cards?

New to laptops and have found almost no information on GPU's. Is the Graphics card provided the one you are stuck with or can you upgrade and if so where can you buy a laptop graphics card?
__________________

M0rga is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 06:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Graphics Cards?

Most laptops have a integrated graphics card/chip. Some laptops can have its graphics card upgraded, but very few.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 06:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Default Re: Graphics Cards?

Ahh... My sister has a toshiba satellite l30-11d i guess that means she's stuck with the card she has got?
M0rga is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Graphics Cards?

Yes...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 07:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Graphics Cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by M0rga View Post
Ahh... My sister has a toshiba satellite l30-11d i guess that means she's stuck with the card she has got?
yes...

those guys weld them...

if u had a custom made one... (i think asus's can be upgraded too?)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 07:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Graphics Cards?

they make external graphics cards, but they are expensive and you need an express card slot
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 08:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Graphics Cards?

Asus and MSI often can be upgraded. A select few Dells can, too. Other than that it's almost a guarentee that you're stuck with what you've got.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Graphics Cards?

Don't some gaming laptops come with 8600's?
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 08:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Graphics Cards?

these laptops do, they're made by a company based near me:

Computer Supplies from Novatech
Nick is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 09:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 96
Default Re: Graphics Cards?

I'll just add, although they're not very well known, I also use Novatech and i've never had a single problem with them. Excellent company.
__________________

Uberg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop graphics comparison to desktop? ssjheero_yuy99 Laptops and Notebooks 1 08-13-2007 10:19 PM
Dual graphics cards ChiliPalmer New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-27-2007 04:27 PM
Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards objecterror New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-23-2007 10:18 PM
Graphics Cards AZNRockThis Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-14-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.