Graphics Card Question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2009, 05:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 24
Default Graphics Card Question...

(i posted this on another thread..which i see now would b more appropriate here =\)

hi.. erm i have the MSI GT735 laptop that has an ati hd according to the thread about graphics cards, i can't play a game like mass effect on high settings?

I checked the recommended settings for that game, and it said: "Recommended: ATI X1800 XL series or higher, NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GTX or higher"
doesn't that look like i should be able to run it on high settings, or am i missing something?

echox91 is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 05:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Almighty Forensica
Yami's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,438
Default Re: Graphics Card Question...

You're confusing laptop cards with desktop cards. The laptop cards are nowhere near as powerful as the desktop cards.

Anyway, go to this site, and find Mass Effect in the drop-down menu. You'll be able to see if you can run it.
Can You RUN It?

Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone HTC One M8 - Sense 7 - 6.0

Uni MSci Ethical Hacking, Coventry University
Work Trainee Cell Site Analyst
LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 05:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Graphics Card Question...

that's what i used to determine the recommended settings. i haven't gotten the laptop yet so i just used my pc. Is that supposed to change if I use a laptop instead? Will the site dish out different numbers?
echox91 is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 07:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Graphics Card Question...

You may get away with running at 1680x1050, but since the Mobility HD 3850 is similar spec'ed as the desktop HD 3850.. you should be able to max it @ 1440x900 (I did when I ran it here)

I have an HD 3850 512MB though
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Graphics Card Question...

hey thats the card im getting
thanks again! i hate how all this "can i run this game at high settings" questions are so ambiguous tho...ughh
echox91 is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Graphics Card Question...

A lot of game devs really don't want to know any thing about laptop graphic cards. It's an attitude that they really need to change as more and more people are going towards laptops.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 08:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Graphics Card Question...

meanwhile the laptop guys suffer. lol.

echox91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor NOT communicating with Graphics Card - Help! luckharm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-01-2009 04:05 AM
Noobie - Anyone know what kind of Ram I take?! Kemperz System Upgrades 8 06-21-2009 10:59 PM
Graphics Card question ROFL_A_PIGGY New Systems | Building and Buying 43 06-18-2009 01:35 AM
ati graphics card re-install virusxman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-08-2008 09:29 PM
BFG Announces Graphics Card 100 Day Trade Up Program Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 03-18-2008 07:34 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.