Google ChromeBook!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tech_Mex916

Solid State Member
What do you guys think of the new OS that Google has came out with? I'm not totally sold on the whole idea of a Cloud based OS. Has anyone tried it out yet? Let me know, I would like some reviews from real techies.

I haven't yet tried it out for myself, but I'm against it until I have fiber-optic internet at home and at my place of work/schooling. If everything's online you're going to need a good constant connection.

Otherwise I'm all for it. I already use my laptop for everything work-related, and use Dropbox to keep everything online. Moving to a Chromebook wouldn't make a lot of difference for me.

I'm Really new to the whole Cloud based system. I use the Cloud just a little bit through Windows. I just didn't know if the ChromeBook is actually worthy paying for. Jayce how did you sign-up for the pilot program?

I went on a long drive down south and my cousin tagged along. He had a CR-48 and told me about it. I was skeptical, but we ended up signing me up for the pilot program at a McDonalds wifi hot spot using his very CR-48. To my surprise, I was chosen.

Chrome OS is nice, but it has its drawbacks. I like having an operating system I don't have to worry about. Likewise, I also like having an operating system I can tinker with. Chrome OS lacks on the 2nd part of that. If you want something "on the go" and you utilize web based applications, you can put the ChromeBook to good use. My problem is I work in IT, so I love my gadgets and tools for troubleshooting various issues. I also like to tinker and customize, and eventually I just felt bottlenecked by Chrome OS.