GFX in Bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2008, 08:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default GFX in Bios

Is there anyway to boost the Video memory in Bios on the Aspire 4720Z?

My laptop says it has 384 MB available...But It's only using 10 MB. Is there anyway to increase this to the max, so it will take away from my system memory, which is 2 GB?

Here is a SS.

As you can see...The minimum, maximum, and graphics memory actually in use.
__________________

Skiller. is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 09:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: GFX in Bios

That means 10mb is currently in use....it will use between 8-384mb depending on anything the demand. For example open up rthdribl or something and I bet it will use quite a bit of it.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: GFX in Bios

So it's basically automatic? (I can't do anything?)

My GFX is basically not getting enough video memory from the system. And when it has a maximum of 384 mb, i don't see why it only uses 30 MB when running a game :s

There has to be something I can do
Skiller. is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 03:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: GFX in Bios

well that's the unfortunate thing about integrated graphics and laptops...not much you can do.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 08:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: GFX in Bios

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiller. View Post
So it's basically automatic? (I can't do anything?)

My GFX is basically not getting enough video memory from the system. And when it has a maximum of 384 mb, i don't see why it only uses 30 MB when running a game :s

There has to be something I can do
What game is it? And is the game giving you an error?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 09:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: GFX in Bios

It's Team Fortress 2, and yes it is giving me an error. Sometimes I get a Blue Screen and my System reboots.
__________________

Skiller. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.