Gaming laptop?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuperSmurf

Solid State Member
new computer: please advise

Hey Team,
I'm a rookie when it comes to computers, so I need the advice of you wise internet folk ;)

I'm toying with the notion of getting a new laptop, or perhaps going the direction of a desktop. Due to limited time and budget, I won't be building my own desktop.
I need your advice to help me decide between a laptop or a desktop (I've narrowed my options to two models that quite interest me:
[Gateway laptop or desktop.

I intend to use it for mild gaming (DOWII, SCII, COD:BO, D3 (if it ever comes out)) so I'm wondering which system will better handle my needs.
Yes, I understand the differences of portability between a laptop and a desktop. I only need to move my computer to different locations a half dozen times a year, but the covenience of a laptop is very nice for these situations!

Any and all input is appreciated!

Re: new computer: please advise

I would be careful of getting a gaming laptop. I have 3 laptops and 4 desktops and from experience I can tell you that desktops will always game much better. Laptops overheat very easily and the extra heat makes your laptop run very very slow. Desktops are much cooler and faster.

I also upgrade my computers pretty often and I can tell you that a laptop will be extremely hard to upgrade. You can only upgrade the hard drive and RAM most of the time.

This means that in a year the laptop will be completely out of date and you wont be able to upgrade all its parts.

It depends on how hard you run your system though.