Freeze then Blue Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2010, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Freeze then Blue Screen

Hey guys, I'm temporarily on my father's laptop and it regularly locks up and goes to a blue screen before rebooting.

It's an Acer Aspire 4720Z, which was pre-loaded with Vista, but I formatted and installed XP on it and found all drivers necessary. This was originally my laptop and worked fine when I had it, but now it freezes up.

What can be causing this?
Is there any fix?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 03-15-2010, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Freeze then Blue Screen

1. Pirating / illegal software is frowned upon here
2. Check this thread out, it'll help out a lot.
3. Check this page out, it'll give you details of your BSOD.
__________________

__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 03-15-2010, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: Freeze then Blue Screen

I'm sorry, I used the wrong term. I didn't pirate it, I installed it with my own copy of Windows XP.
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Freeze then Blue Screen

Oh, yeah, I can see how you'd confuse 'my own copy' with 'pirate'

The links iFargle posted are all you need
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue screen after install Windows 7! SheilaE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-03-2010 01:41 PM
Got the Blue screen, but everything seems to be fine.. NicktheQuik Microsoft Windows and Software 8 11-27-2008 07:40 PM
Windows goes into "BAD_POOL" blue screen after attemtping windows update blue4paper Microsoft Windows and Software 3 11-14-2008 03:58 PM
Unknown Blue Screen Error nnigad Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-12-2008 11:16 PM
IBM Announces PetaFLOP Blue Gene Supercomputer maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 06-27-2007 06:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.