Frakking Dell >.< - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2010, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Frakking Dell >.<

Well, about two years ago I bought the Dell laptop in my signature (it was a good deal at the time!), and I'm starting to have a very annoying issue with the battery. It seems to be fine until it gets to about 60%ish capacity (in both Windows and the battery meter thingie on the battery). Then, it suddenly drops to a critical capacity and forces the computer to enter hibernation.

I can force restart the laptop; that causes the windows display to read about 5%-10% capacity remaining (one dot on battery), and the computer dies not long after that from no power.

I'm thinking it's a battery issue, since the readout on the battery itself is screwy, but is there a good way to confirm this?

Also: the second Dell power brick is going bad. It's already been replaced once (just barely under warranty), and I'm thinking there's an issue with the entire stock. I was looking on Newegg for a replacement and found both this and this which say they're Dell compatible. Anyone know if the Dell laptops use a common power supply jack? The ones I've seen are, but I'd rather not spend $40 on something that doesn't work. Laptop is virtually identical to the Inspiron 1420.
Or, is there some way to just get another cable that goes from the adaptor to the wall? It works fine if the cable is jiggled into the right position, so it's more of a crappy cable than crappy brick.

Thanks for your help. Next computer will be a Lenovo.
__________________

__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Frakking Dell >.<

I'm afraid you had bad batteries. I had a similar problem on my Dell Vostro 1500. It wouldn't hold a charge for very long. Then I went hunting. I didn't want to buy it from Dell for ~$200.

Next choice was eBay. Now, I am a bit weary of eBay, but I looked for very good sellers. I found a good one.
NEW Battery for Dell Inspiron 1420 Vostro 1400 Laptop - eBay (item 170430476928 end time Aug-08-10 01:06:27 PDT) (this is your version you need)

It has a 3-year warranty. Only for ~$30. Mine workS flawlessly everyday since I bought it. They are a good company. I would buy from them again.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Frakking Dell >.<

I have a dell vostro 1000 with the same issue.

On a full charge it says a little over 2 hours but i can barely get 20 minutes out of the thing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 05:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Frakking Dell >.<

That shall be your problem. Get a new battery. They aren't meant to last longer than a couple years, if.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 06:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Re: Frakking Dell >.<

Nuts, that's a shame about the battery. At least $30 on eBay isn't too outrageous, thanks for the link!

Any other ideas with the power supply? A new battery isn't much good if I can't charge it up :P
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 06:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Frakking Dell >.<

If the second power supply they sent you is already going bad i would call dell and talk to customer support.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 07:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Frakking Dell >.<

If it's not under warranty, they won't do crap.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 08:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Frakking Dell >.<

Sometimes if you make a big enough stink they might fix the problem.

Couldn't hurt to try.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 08:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Frakking Dell >.<

That is rare. All they want to do is sell you a new product.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-19-2010, 01:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Frakking Dell >.<

Quote:
Originally Posted by trekkie00 View Post
Any other ideas with the power supply? A new battery isn't much good if I can't charge it up :P
If Dell won't do anything for you then I'm sure you can find another cheap one on Ebay.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Dell or not to Dell... regeisle New Systems | Building and Buying 20 09-28-2009 04:01 AM
Dell Releases Bios Updates For Several Nvidia Video Cards Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 07-30-2008 12:41 PM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.