Formatting Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2010, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default Formatting Laptop

Hello all, I'm kinda new here but have looked around on the forums alot in the past. I recently received an older Dell Inspiron 2200 laptop from a friend and it was loaded with a ton of stuff I didn't need plus it was very slow. It appeared to not have a restore partition on the hard drive, and I didn't have the original restore disk that came with it. I did though have a windows XP disk I had purchased for a previous build and I figured I could just use the product code on the bottom of the laptop. Well as it turns out I was not able to use that code and now have a formatted laptop that I can not install XP on since the product code that came with the disk is being used. Does anyone have ideas of what I could do in order to install XP using the product code on the laptop? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Smalls
__________________

Smalls is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Formatting Laptop

Your laptop code is OEM. You are most likely running a retail version. Those two are not compatible.

Edit: Welcome to posting on TF!
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Formatting Laptop

Thank you for the response. I have some old restore disk from a Toshiba laptop. Do you think it would work if I restored using those disks?
Smalls is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Formatting Laptop

No, a Toshiba restore disk will not work. It will get confused with all the wrong drivers and will crash.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-14-2010, 04:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Formatting Laptop

So is my only option purchasing another copy of XP? It's an older laptop so I really didn't want to put a whole lot of money into it.
Smalls is offline  
Old 05-14-2010, 11:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Formatting Laptop

Linux? (I'm not pro in it either)

What may be cheaper, is call up Dell and request a restore disk. It would be cheaper than buying a new XP box.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-14-2010, 12:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Formatting Laptop

Agreed with MoM, you can call Dell and see if you get a restore disk as it may be cheaper than buying a new XP disk. Also Linux is very handy, you can test it out and see if you like it before you decide restoring, also it takes up less space than Windows, at least resource wise . It takes getting used to though, and not all software from Windows work on it, but there are alternatives.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 05-14-2010, 03:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Formatting Laptop



Yes, you can try a Linux boot disk.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-15-2010, 05:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Formatting Laptop

Agree with MoM, you will need an OEM disk. Once that is installed the product key on the laptop will more than likely work.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsolve Mystery of 2003 Laptop PC magnum Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-21-2010 03:45 AM
Very nice Gateway laptop "MX6433" 15.4-inch screen and more! Thresh Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 02-06-2009 07:08 PM
Teacher + School >>> Laptop + Home - Connectivity Issues. Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 08-28-2008 09:24 PM
Laptop PSU Problem spiking CPU billythefish Laptops and Notebooks 2 08-25-2008 02:52 PM
Formatting a Laptop running XP to install Win 98 SE Cyber.Logan Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-31-2007 05:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.