Faulty screen...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2011, 10:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Default Faulty screen...?

My screen has white lines through it, but I can attach a external monitor via the VGA port.. my LCD screen is obviously the faulty piece of hardware right?

I guess my question is, does the internal video and external video run completely separate of each other so I know that it is indeed the the screen and not the video adapter/card.

I think I've confused my self...
__________________

organic is offline  
Old 02-28-2011, 10:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Faulty screen...?

It's definitely not your video card. Both your LCD and external monitor run on the same video card.

It's either the LCd is bad, or the connection is loose.

What is your model?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-28-2011, 10:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 23
Default Re: Faulty screen...?

Acer Extensa 5630, It's a piece of crap.

I guess I'll check the LCD connection to the board disassembly looks fairly simple. I just want to get it off my desk so it's safe once I check the connection and it's secure that this thing needs a new screen?
organic is offline  
Old 02-28-2011, 12:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Faulty screen...?

Yeah, you'd need a new LCD. You can find those online someplace. Just make sure it matches with your model. Should be simple as removing the screws under the rubber feet on the LCD border. I did it once, and it was rather easy.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faulty fan. Primulas Cooling 3 10-10-2009 04:37 PM
Faulty something ? jOnniesz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-19-2007 05:56 AM
faulty psu? bozzobrain System Upgrades 6 04-19-2006 08:48 PM
Faulty CD Drive or faulty discs? SupremeRuler99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 04-19-2005 06:13 PM
Faulty CD-ROM? gump Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 02-20-2003 01:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.