dvd rw - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2009, 10:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default dvd rw

Hi, i have a acer laptop with a optiarc dvd rw ad-7560a drive,i downgraded from vista to xp home,now my dvd drive will only play cds ,wont play movies,everything seems to be ok in device manager,no yellow marks,but in my computer it says dvd ram,for the drive,can anyone help,thanks
__________________

eiocan is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Re: dvd rw

Have you got a DVD codec installed? Try using VLC: VLC media player - Overview

If VLC works, try Windows Media Player again. If that works, you just needed the right codec...
__________________

__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: dvd rw

tried vlc,tried k-lite codec,firmware dx14,still will only play cds,could it be the wrong firmware,also tried a system repair.
eiocan is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 02:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Re: dvd rw

Ok, have you tried uninstalling the drive and letting XP re-install it? (Right click on the drive in Device Manager and choose "Uninstall", then reboot.)
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: dvd rw

tried that still the same
eiocan is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Re: dvd rw

Ok, have a read through this: CD-R drive or CD-RW drive is not recognized as a recordable device

The "Things To Try" and "Troubleshooting" sections are the ones to go for, but read the whole thing.

Also, try the "Upperfilters" trick: Your CD drive or DVD drive is missing or is not recognized by Windows or other programs
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Lightbulb Re: dvd rw

tried this ,the recording button is there,upper filter removal did not work
eiocan is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 04:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Re: dvd rw

Hmmm...

What actually happens when you insert a DVD? Does it recognise it at all? Any error messages when you try to play a DVD?
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 06:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: dvd rw

does not recognise the dvds,just cds
eiocan is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 06:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Re: dvd rw

Have you got another pc you could try the drive on?
__________________

__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.