Dual Monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2009, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Dual Monitors

I have the HP Pavilion dv6700, and i want to use it with a dual monitor set up...
i have no idea how to do this, so il post my specs and hopefully someone can help me...

graphics card: nvidia geforce 8400m GS
Outs: 1 HDMI, and 1 VGA

i will purchase the monitors after i fugure out exactly what i have to get / do...
__________________

Dasanator is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Dual Monitors

Well, you'll have one monitor connected via the HDMI, and another via the VGA. If the monitor(s) you get don't have either of those connections, there are converters for what you need.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 06:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Dual Monitors

What kind of monitor's are you going to use in your set up?

You could use one of these to convert the HDMI on the video card to DVI if you don't use a monitor that has HDMI Newegg.com - Link Depot 7 FT HDMI TO DVI Cable Model HDMI-DVI-2 - Cables
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Dual Monitors

Or grab one of these and plug it into a USB port:
EVGA UV12 Plus+ USB VGA Adapter - 100-U2-UV12-A1 - Buy.com
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driver issues with Ati 4800 series? Dual Monitors a problem? Chad711 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-30-2008 04:23 PM
dual monitors Monkey PC Gaming 2 10-29-2008 04:29 PM
??? on monitors, resolution, and dual displays dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-14-2008 10:59 AM
8800GTS (g92) + dual monitors KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 02-26-2008 07:48 PM
Dual monitors question matthewgilchris Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 08-20-2007 02:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.