Dropped Laptop now freezes at GUI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Old 06-27-2011, 09:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Default Dropped Laptop now freezes at GUI

So I'm an aspiring tech and I would like to know if my method for troubleshooting is correct. I have a co-worker who dropped his laptop while running. He complains that it now hangs when the GUI loads. His disk drive isn't a SSD, so I would assume he caused a head crash on his disk. I'm thinking he now has some bad sectors. My first move would be to boot safe mode, than run CHKDSK with the R switch. Does this sound about right?

Old 06-27-2011, 10:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Almighty Forensica

Sounds like you might be doing this for homework, but I'll confirm that yes, that's one of the first things you'll want to do. However, if the drive is damaged in some way, you do run the risk of completely killing it by running a chkdsk. It would best to backup anything important not already backed up before doing anything else with the hard drive (either by sticking the drive in another machine and accessing it via that machine's OS, or a Linux Live CD).

Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone HTC One M8 - Sense 7 - 6.0

Uni MSci Ethical Hacking, Coventry University
Work Trainee Cell Site Analyst
LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Old 06-30-2011, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie