Dell XPS 1330 Help please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2013, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: jamaica
Posts: 2
Default Dell XPS 1330 Help please

2 issues here


So I have a dell XPS 1330 laptop I purchased a few years ago. A few months ago I was trying to watch some movies via HDMI and everything was working just fine. Well after the last time I used the HDMI, I unplugged it and the display was blank. After hours and hours of trying to fix the problem, toggling from projector mode and other settings, I just cannot for the life of me, get the screen to come back on. The only way I can use the computer now is connecting it to the TV via HDMI to see whats going on.

Today I decided to reformat the computer in hopes that it would fix the issue, thinking that maybe the GPU driver had become corrupted or something and now the computer won't even boot to windows and just stops after the window loading screen. I put in the system restore disc (Windows Vista) and changed the boot priority to cd/dvd and it reads it just fine, however after initializing the setup it just stays on the blue windows installation screen and does nothing. Is there a way to completely erase the hard disk without the restore disk or a windows OS disk?

I guess I need to tackle each problem separably but im thinking that maybe getting it to reformat, maybe by some small chance, it will fix itself. Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.

-Red
__________________

redwebpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default Re: Dell XPS 1330 Help please

if you want to format the hard drive and you are having problems doing this while it is connected you have a few options

you can use a Live CD, one of the Linux versions, or windows on a USB memory stick
this will allow you to format the hard drive
When I say a Live CD this means the operating system is on the CD and does not need to be installed, if you boot from the CD drive, it will load the operating system on the CD, which will allow you to perform tasks on the hard drive.
There are other Live CD's which have numerous tools for formatting, virus scanning etc.
It can be best to have a little search to find the one that suits your needs


or you can take out the hard drive, connect it to another computer and format it
__________________

Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: jamaica
Posts: 2
Default Re: Dell XPS 1330 Help please

Thanks I'll check into it..any other suggestions? Do you think a reformat will fix it?
redwebpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 10:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Dell XPS 1330 Help please

Before you format, try this:

Boot up with the laptop plugged in. After the BIOS splash screen and before Windows starts loading, start pressing F8 to get to the advanced boot menu.

Should be options like Safe Mode, etc. Find the one that says "Enable low resolution video" and select that. Then, shut the computer off before it loads windows (just do this during the BIOS splash screen), unplug from the TV, and turn the laptop back on. It should hopefully show up on your laptop's display.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 08:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 94
Default Re: Dell XPS 1330 Help please

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwebpk View Post
2 issues here


Today I decided to reformat the computer in hopes that it would fix the issue, thinking that maybe the GPU driver had become corrupted or something and now the computer won't even boot to windows and just stops after the window loading screen.
-Red
When you say it 'stops' do you mean that the computer shuts off, the loading screen just stays on or its a black screen but power is on?

Can you go into safe mode? If you can get into safe mode (usually f8) this bypasses the current video driver and settings and places the video display settings in the default mode. If that works you can change the display settings and update drivers. Also you should probably check the audio and set that to what your usual audio output is.
ithanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.