dell studio 1535 converted - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2012, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default

hello everyone over the next few days i will be taking my old dell studio 1535 which has a bad motherboard and will be bringing it back from the dead the current specs on it are a 2.0gh processor core 2 duo processor l2 1mb cache and a dead 500 gig harddrive with 4 gbs of ram and a 1535 motherboard now you may think this is crazy but i will be taking out the 1535 motherboard and replaceing it with a 1537 motherboard and a t9500 intel core 2 dual core processor 2.6 gh and a 6 mb cache with 800mh i shall then be able to put windows 7 pro on it 64 bit and and puting in 8gb of ram in her as well as a new 500g hd to go with it the total cost will be around in the range of 200$ or less i will be doing this operation at vo tech in my computer repair and networking class il be takeing pics and posting about the whole thing does anybody think this a good idea please tell me thanks

the laptop its self is a 2008 dell studio 1535 witch im turning into a souped up 1537

so im really building a new computer as im putting in a new mobo new processor new fan
new hd and new ram
__________________

Lord orvus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: dell studio 1535 converted

Where are you getting the new board from? Does it have the same I/O outputs?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default

ebay and i belive so

may i just ask what is I/0 output

i think
Lord orvus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: dell studio 1535 converted

...if you don't know what I/O stands for, then you should not be attempting this until you learn more about hardware.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default

ok its the power i belive they do share the same I/0 output they look and are built exactly the same

sorry i had to did it out of head and yes they do share the same I/0 output

ok so iv fixed computer before i really wana take my old dell and make it into a powerful pc in the process bringing it back to life

http://file:///F:/DCIM/100PHOTO/PICT0005.JPG[/IMG]
Lord orvus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: dell studio 1535 converted

Orvus, please do not triple post. Use the edit button.

I/O outputs mean all your external components, DVD slot, USB, VGA/HDMI, card reader, ethernet port, etc.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: dell studio 1535 converted

yes they will work everything on the 1535 is the same as the 1537
ok thanks
Lord orvus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: dell studio 1535 converted

I just checked, the 1537 and 1535 motherboards are the EXACT same motherboard between the two series, 5 is for 15in system, 7 is for the 17in system. So it's really just replacing the motherboard with the same board, standard procedure honestly.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: dell studio 1535 converted

yes i know but im also putting ina new processor and adding 8gigs of ram from windows vista
to windows 7
so it will work then right
yes but the 1537 is 64 bit
the 1535 is 32 bit
and my processor is 2.0gh
but im changing it to 2.6gh dual core
Lord orvus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: dell studio 1535 converted

yea i finaly got the new 1537 motherboard and guess what the computer just did what it did before with the old motherboard it turned on then shut down with in 3-5 secs the screen was black 2 im kind of wondering could it be my processor i dont know please help
__________________

Lord orvus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dell studio converted

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Studio 1909 Amoed77 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-04-2011 04:10 PM
Dell Laptop 1535 Anique Laptops and Notebooks 2 01-01-2010 09:38 AM
Dell Studio 1537 snake Laptops and Notebooks 5 11-20-2009 01:13 PM
Is anybody running a Dell Studio One with XP? Jayce Microsoft Windows and Software 7 07-16-2009 12:43 AM
dell Studio 15 Deadpixel Laptops and Notebooks 2 07-24-2008 05:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.