dell inspiron 700m lcd screen dim - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2009, 09:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: dell inspiron 700m lcd screen dim

raverx3m,
I have a problem with a very dark screen on my 700m. I did spill water on it about 2 years ago. I had to replace the battery after that. I can see the images if I look real close. I googled like crazy and found replacing the inverter. So I ordered a inverter and flex cable. I replaced both and my screen is still dark. I ordered an lcd backlight and will replace that when it arrives. Can you help me out by telling me where the backlight is and how to replace it?
Thanks, Susan
__________________

nailedinny is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 12:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: dell inspiron 700m lcd screen dim

lol man good luck with that.
did you buy the one with wires soldered already?
itsa very delicate process.
so far i replaced 2 of them and itsa pain in the ***.
you have to take apart the LCD completely to get to the bulb.

its on the bottom of the screen.

1make sure its the exact same size as the original bulb(measure them both after you got the original out)
2 make sure you are in a dust free area(the polarizing layers of the screen have alot of static when you pull them apart so they will suck in whatever dust you have in the air.
3 make sure not to bend the frame or any metal brackets otherwise you will have backlight leaks.
plug in the inverter and the screen and test it before you put everything together.


and BEFORE ALL THAT!!!!! make sure the toggle switch ( the LID CLOSE sensor) is working properly and not desoldered or broken pin
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 12:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: dell inspiron 700m lcd screen dim

oh and test your new bulb before putting it in also
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530 Digital Felon System Upgrades 22 10-16-2008 03:12 AM
Quick question about dell inspiron 531 PSU Dearen System Upgrades 2 08-15-2008 02:04 AM
Dell Inspiron Motherboard/Memory Problem Jaco42 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-10-2007 02:12 AM
Dell Inspiron E1705 lluwas New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-05-2007 10:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.